Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


We Float: Silence

Eyal Hareuveni By

Sign in to view read count
Silence, the debut album from the Norwegian-Swedish, Malmö-based quartet We Float, offers well-crafted, dreamy and intimate jazz songs with a pop sensibility, characterized by a hypnotic, infectious pulse. This kind of aesthetic may sound to some as treading in the sonic territory of the Swedish-Danish trio Nuaia, but this first impression is deceiving —there is more from this fine group in Silence.

We Float, whose name is inspired by PJ Harvey song (taken from Harvey's White Chalk album, Island, 2007) is led by Norwegian bassist Anne Marte Eggen, who wrote all the music, and consists of Swedish vocalist Linda Bergström (both Eggen and Bergström began to play together as the We Float duo), keyboard player Fanny Gunnarsson and drummer Filip Bensefelt. Bergström and Gunnarsson collaborated before on the Rasmus Nyvall Quintet, whose debut album was also released by the musicians-collective Havtorn records.

Each of the eight songs suggests a different landscape, often inspired by the close sea and its waves, as a metaphor for the stormy, emotional dramas sketched in the songs. The opening, keyboards-laden instrumental "Intro" is rooted in a prog-rock dense texture, but it is the exception. The following moving, beautiful and lyrical "My Bones" and "Silence," both sung in English, stress the maturity of this group. On both songs you can sense the commanding, evocative delivery of Bergström, the nuanced, tasteful rhythmic support of Eggen and Bensefelt, Gunnarsson's wise usage of vintage keyboards that intensifies the sonic palette, and above all, the emphatic interplay. The chamber-like "Farewell" and the closing, "Vinden," (the only song that is sung in Swedish), highlight Bergström's elegant, deep, emotional delivery.

A promising debut.

Track Listing: Intro; My Bones; Silence; Echolocation; Mysticeti; Tired; Farewell; Vinden.

Personnel: Anne Marte Eggen: bass; Linda Bergström: vocals; Fanny Gunnarsson: pianoת Fender Rhodes, synthesizer; Filip Bensefelt: drums, percussion.

Title: Silence | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: Havtorn Records




comments powered by Disqus

Album Reviews
Read more articles


Havtorn Records



Start your shopping here and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Barriers Album Reviews
By Karl Ackermann
February 16, 2019
Read Fractal Guitar Album Reviews
Fractal Guitar
By John Kelman
February 16, 2019
Read The Early Bird Gets Album Reviews
The Early Bird Gets
By Mark Corroto
February 16, 2019
Read The Newest Sound You Never Heard Album Reviews
The Newest Sound You Never Heard
By Jerome Wilson
February 16, 2019
Read Think Big: Like Me Album Reviews
Think Big: Like Me
By Paul Naser
February 16, 2019
Read Melodic Ornette Coleman: Piano Works XIII Album Reviews
Melodic Ornette Coleman: Piano Works XIII
By Karl Ackermann
February 15, 2019
Read Free Fall Album Reviews
Free Fall
By Peter Hoetjes
February 15, 2019