September 2003

Glenn Astarita By

Sign in to view read count
The Silence Behind Each Cry – Suite for Urs Voerkel

Omri Ziegele - Billiger Bauer

Intakt Records

This Switzerland-based modern jazz nonet minces garrulous horn charts with rock underpinnings in concert with a few rambunctiously rendered cosmic meltdowns. The title work is dedicated to the late Swiss saxophonist Urs Voerkel, whereas “Part IV – Echoes of R.C.” features American poet Robert Creeley’s text. The four-man horn section packs a mighty punch to coincide with a few zany diversions and hard-hitting ostinato motifs. Overall, the band melds various stylistic elements into an energized approach. A jubilant affair it is.

English Commonflowers

Martin Archer

Discus Music

Martin Archer hails from Great Britain. He’s performed within free jazz circles, primarily as a saxophonist. These days the artist uses a variety of synth-flavored keyboards, fuzz bass, and other instruments. Here, Archer and others execute otherworldly soundscapes. But his music is difficult to classify as he imparts an indelible stamp of authenticity to these asymmetrically devised works. You’ll hear grunge style guitar parts, odd-metered rhythmic interludes, airy EFX, and jazzy horn arrangements. In sum, Archer defies common notions of practicality, which in turn provides the luminous spark to these inventively concocted soundscapes.

Blue Muse

Kenny Burrell

Concord Records

Guitar great Kenny Burrell projects warmth as a vocalist here, paralleling his infamous fretwork consisting of meticulously designed voicings and subtle delicacies. Burrell explores a potpourri of swing vamps, featuring multi-reedman Herman Riley and others. As a guitarist, Burrell is a charmer, yet he also kicks it up a notch or two throughout this affable outing. It’s an undeniably tasteful small ensemble-based jazz event.

A Small Madness

David Binney/Jeff Hirshfield


Saxophonist David Binney uses electronics as a backdrop for this series of sprightly duets with drummer Jeff Hirshfield. And while the artists tear down the roof on occasion, this is a structured program. Sure, they improvise through a variety of divergent movements, although Binney’s compositions are primarily constructed upon memorable melodies. Nonetheless, it’s a well-thought out production containing nicely balanced freeform excursions and cohesively actualized frameworks.


More Articles

Read August 2007 New & Noteworthy August 2007
by Glenn Astarita
Published: August 29, 2007
Read July 2007 New & Noteworthy July 2007
by Glenn Astarita
Published: August 4, 2007
Read June 2007 New & Noteworthy June 2007
by Glenn Astarita
Published: June 23, 2007
Read May 2007 New & Noteworthy May 2007
by Glenn Astarita
Published: May 20, 2007
Read April 2007 New & Noteworthy April 2007
by Glenn Astarita
Published: April 18, 2007
Read March 2007 New & Noteworthy March 2007
by Glenn Astarita
Published: March 21, 2007
Read "The Traveling Wilburys Collection" Extended Analysis The Traveling Wilburys Collection
by Doug Collette
Published: September 4, 2016
Read "Gregory Porter At The Ulster Hall, Belfast" Live Reviews Gregory Porter At The Ulster Hall, Belfast
by Ian Patterson
Published: April 6, 2016
Read "Bojan Z at Hugh Lane Gallery, Dublin" Live Reviews Bojan Z at Hugh Lane Gallery, Dublin
by Ian Patterson
Published: September 13, 2016
Read "Christmas 2016 II:  Contemporary" Bailey's Bundles Christmas 2016 II: Contemporary
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: December 4, 2016

Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus

Sponsor: ECM Records | BUY NOW  

Support our sponsor

Support All About Jazz's Future

We need your help and we have a deal. Contribute $20 and we'll hide the six Google ads that appear on every page for a full year!

Buy it!