All About Jazz

Home » Articles » CD/LP/Track Review


Isamu McGregor: Resonance

Karl Ackermann By

Sign in to view read count
It has been five years since the release of pianist Isamu McGregor's debut Live at the Baked Potato! (Amorphous Paraphernalia Records, 2012) and his Resonance turns out to be well worth the wait. While the first album was solidly entrenched in the fusion arena, the current outing is a genre defying and eclectic collection with an emphasis on acoustics. McGregor, still in his twenties, has worked with some top talent including Chris Potter, pianist Jean-Michel Pilc and Stefon Harris. The members of his original quartet return here, but with varying degrees of involvement.

"The Dreamer" is an eclectic blend of styles; classicism meets funk and coexists nicely over the course of ten minutes. Tenor saxophonist Seamus Blake owns the searing and soulful "Relentless," a highlight of the album. The great Bennie Maupin makes a lasting impression with his guest solo on "The Drifter"; his bass clarinet adding a nomadic feel to the piece. "Thor vs. James Brown" brings back the fusion style with a heavy emphasis on Deen Anbar's electric guitar and some fine bass work from Evan Marien. Anbar was a significant factor in the debut but appears only on this one track of the new album. In large part, it is the aspect that skews the album further away from fusion.

Resonance demonstrates a growing expertise for this young artist. As a performer and composer, this new album shows maturity and a willingness to tackle some very diverse elements. McGregor has surrounded himself with a talented group of musicians, Blake, in particular, really standing out on his solos. Resonance is a major step forward in terms of McGregor's compositional development and an intriguing listen.

Track Listing: The Dreamer; Relentless; Halfway There; Because; The Drifter; Thor vs. James Brown; The Tao of Flying.

Personnel: Isamu McGregor: piano/keyboards; Evan Marien: bass; Gene Coye: drums; Bennie Maupin: bass clarinet (5); Seamus Blake: tenor sax (2); Deen Anbar: guitar (6).

Title: Resonance | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: Ghost Note


comments powered by Disqus

CD/LP/Track Review
Read more articles


Ghost Note

Isamu McGregor: Live at the Baked Potato!

Isamu McGregor: Live...

Amorphous Paraphernalia Records


Related Articles

Read Shades CD/LP/Track Review
by Doug Collette
Published: October 20, 2018
Read Putumayo Presents: Ska Around the World CD/LP/Track Review
Putumayo Presents: Ska Around the World
by Jim Trageser
Published: October 20, 2018
Read Pattern Recognition CD/LP/Track Review
Pattern Recognition
by Mark Sullivan
Published: October 20, 2018
Read Just This CD/LP/Track Review
Just This
by Chris Mosey
Published: October 20, 2018
Read Live at Sowieso CD/LP/Track Review
Live at Sowieso
by Glenn Astarita
Published: October 20, 2018
Read Displaced Diaspora CD/LP/Track Review
Displaced Diaspora
by Chris May
Published: October 19, 2018
Read "Gallarais" CD/LP/Track Review Gallarais
by Karl Ackermann
Published: November 15, 2017
Read "Sun Sparkle" CD/LP/Track Review Sun Sparkle
by Gareth Thompson
Published: May 29, 2018
Read "Live in New York, 2010" CD/LP/Track Review Live in New York, 2010
by Jakob Baekgaard
Published: December 31, 2017
Read "ANDINA: The Sound of the Peruvian Andes" CD/LP/Track Review ANDINA: The Sound of the Peruvian Andes
by Chris M. Slawecki
Published: January 6, 2018
Read "City Of Light" CD/LP/Track Review City Of Light
by John Sharpe
Published: December 22, 2017
Read "Doubles, Vol. 1" CD/LP/Track Review Doubles, Vol. 1
by Jim Trageser
Published: October 17, 2018