Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


The Rhythm Surf Monkeys: Reinvented

Jim Olin By

Sign in to view read count
The Rhythm Surf Monkeys' new album Reinvented is a collection of powerful rock tracks imbued with AOR, blues, and jazz elements. There is no song-skipping on this one. Every track has a compelling message, engrossing music, and pervasive appeal. The brainchild of songwriter/guitarist Jim Hiltz, the band has created an album that will reverberate in the minds and hearts of its listeners.

The CD kicks off with the title cut, a crackling opener that is a toe-tapper from the first strum of the electric guitar. Megan Wheatley's powerful voice adds bluesy grit to the track. It's one of those songs that will keep adrenaline running high from beginning to end. The high-octane lead guitar solo is dynamic and bold, and the energy in this song is sustained until the last note. The hooks are fresh and invigorating.

A few bars in and some would think that "Pen of Cowards" is a Creed song with its hypnotic lead intro. Part haunting, part mysterious, this song contains a strong message. It opens with "A name without a face/A thousand friends you've never met/Cast your stones/From the shadows." Steve Kilgallon's voice is poignant but commanding. From a slow enigmatic start the track intensifies as it seems to break its own barriers with its ferocious beats and fiery strums. It then cleverly pulls back in the end to a satisfying close.

"I Forgot Who I Am" is jazz fusion at its finest. This upbeat song managed to strike the balance in forging the robust rock tunes with the relaxing jazz vibe and the rhythmic blues beats. Both the trumpet and lead guitar had their respective shining moments within the song, showing that the rock and jazz genre are compatible without overpowering each other. This one is a certified ear candy.

One thing that is worth noting about this album is the compelling narratives of Hiltz. Each track tells a story and in today's music industry, that attribute has become a rare gem. This album has nuggets of impeccable songcraft scattered all throughout its tracks like rough diamonds waiting to be discovered.

Track Listing: Reinvented; Pen of Cowards; I Forgot Who I Am; Prospect Avenue; Paid My Dues; The Old Soldier; So Many Times.

Personnel: Jim Hiltz: guitar, music, lyrics; Kyle Reitz: guitar, bass; Steve Kilgallon: drums, vocals (2); Megan Wheatly-Shurman -vocals, keyboards; Rob Fahey -guitar, vocals; Mike Pope -bass (5); Tony Sciuto -guitar, vocals (5); Jeff Wolinski -bass; Jim Frattali -guitar; Frank Grocolski -guitar; Larry Wilson -guitar, bass (7); Rachel McCusker -backing vocals (5); Scott Stansfield -horn, charts; Big Ass Brass -Mark Kelly, Shaun McIntyre, John Morgan, and Daniel Wallace.

Title: Reinvented | Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: Self Produced



comments powered by Disqus


Start your shopping here and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Live at the Black Musicians' Conference, 1981 Album Reviews
Live at the Black Musicians' Conference, 1981
By John Sharpe
January 20, 2019
Read More Than One Thing Album Reviews
More Than One Thing
By Gareth Thompson
January 20, 2019
Read Wandering Monster Album Reviews
Wandering Monster
By Roger Farbey
January 20, 2019
Read Pattern Recognition Album Reviews
Pattern Recognition
By Chris M. Slawecki
January 20, 2019
Read Come And Stay With Me: The UK 45's 1964-1969 Album Reviews
Come And Stay With Me: The UK 45's 1964-1969
By Doug Collette
January 19, 2019
Read Beggars Banquet 50th Anniversary Edition Album Reviews
Beggars Banquet 50th Anniversary Edition
By Doug Collette
January 19, 2019
Read Circuits Album Reviews
By Sammy Stein
January 19, 2019