Quinsin Nachoff’s Flux & Hot Heros

Maurice Hogue By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button in the image below to hear this program.

A pair of albums from Northern European artists demonstrate a similar approach in this episode—improvising upon the folk melodies of their countries—Poland's Irek Wojtczak and his Folk Five and Finland's Hot Heros. For Wojtczak, he's just happy to see his recording available: the radio station that was recording the live concert lost the tapes, but fortunately, like a lot of other musicians, he recorded the shows himself. Hot Heros is a trio with connections to another prominent Finnish band: Black Motor. Sami Sippola was Black Motor's original saxophonist while bassist Ville Rauhala plays for both trios. Saxophonist Quinsin Nachoff debuts a new recording with his group, Flux. Quinsin has really focused on compositions that were inspired by a residency at the National Music Center in Calgary. The official release for Path of Totality is early 2020, but an early copy just happened to make its way to One Man's Jazz. And there's plenty of other excellent music from the world of creative music for you as well in this episode.


  • John Escreet "Smokescreen" from Learn to Live (Blue Room Music) 0:00
  • Host speaks 7:25
  • Irek Wojtczak Folk Five "Kej jo ide w pole" from Play It Again (Fundacja Sluchaz) 10:37
  • Irek Wojtczak Folk Five "Z tamtej strony jeziora" from Play It Again (Fundacja Sluchaz) 20:29
  • Tim Haldeman "Good as Gone" from Open Water as a Child (Woolgathering) 31:45
  • David Binney & Manuel Engel "Domesticity" from Zinc City (Metonic) 42:00
  • Josephine Davies Satori "Oddities" from In the Corner of Clouds (Whirlwind) 46:46
  • Host speaks 52:01
  • Hot Heros "Ameriikan-Suomalainen Hambo" from Folkjazz From Finland (Eclipse Music) 53:50
  • Host speaks 1:00:17
  • Quinsin Nachoff & Flux "March Macabre" from Path of Totality (Whirlwind) 1:03:08
  • Roberto Ottaviano "Chairman Mao" from Eternal Love (Dodicilune) 1:17:01
  • Alberto Pinton "Oro E Argento" from Rōd (Self-released) 1:24:32
  • Host speaks 1:31:35
  • Kaja Draksler, Petter Eldh, Christian Lillinger "Evicted" from Punkt.Vrt.Plastik (Intakt) 1:33:01
  • Master Oogway "Eddapliks Part I" from The Concet Koan (Clean Feed) 1:41:00
  • Trio Heinz Herbert "Tolerance" from Yes (Intakt) 1:48:42
  • Host speaks 1:52:18
  • Julien Touery, Sylvain Kassap & Paul Rogers/Robin Fincker/Fabien Duscombs "Cromlech" from 8 Détours (Mr. Morezon) 1:53:16
  • Quinsin Nachoff & Flux "Splatter" from Path Of Totality (Whirlwind) 1:59:43
  • Host speaks 2:13:01
  • Beppe Scardino "1,001" from BP10 Live In Pisa (Auand) 2:13:57
  • Art Ensemble Of Chicago "Mama Wants You" from Coming Home Jamaica (Atlantic) 2:25:35
  • Laia Genc & Roger Hanschel "Strandgut" from Change Follows Vision (Jazzhausmusik) 2:36:57
  • Michael Formanek's Elusion Quartet "The Soul Goodbye" from Time Like This (Intakt) 2:42:30
  • Host speaks 2:51:50
  • Twin Talk "Paxton" from Weaver (People) 2:53:44


comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Mosaic Blow-Out, Anita @ 100 & More
Source Gifts & Messages with Dr. Jazz
April 19, 2019
Kneebody's Perfect
Source Mondo Jazz
April 19, 2019
Big Ten Inch Record
Source Jazz Bastard
April 18, 2019
A Focus on Paul Bley
Source World of Jazz
April 18, 2019
David Ullmann talks Jazz Guitar
Source The Crazeology Radio Show
April 17, 2019
Wójciński-Szmańda Quartet, Dustin Laurenzi and More
Source One Man's Jazz
April 17, 2019
Bebop’s Twin: Rhythm and Blues
Source Jazz at 100
April 16, 2019