All About Jazz

Home » Member Page


About Me

Tippo is an electro-acoustic industrial jazz ensemble formed by David B. Leikam in late 2006 after graduating from Wadada Leo Smith's Music Performer / Composer MFA degree program at CalArts. Tippo played their debut performance on 13.06.2007 at KZSU 90.1FM followed by a double billing performance at the 2007 CalArts Northern California Alumni Showcase at the Cowell Theatre, Fort Mason Center in San Francisco, California, USA on June 16th and 17th, 2007. David B. Leikam had played with these musicians in various other formations before the creation of Tippo; with Areni Agbabian on piano / voice since late 2004 with their duet audio project Agbabian / Leikam, with Zachary Morris on drums(et) with various improvisational music performance since 2005 at CalArts including the post-CalArts formation of the San Francisco Bay Area based band, 'z_bug' in late 2006. Sean Price is the most recent member who joined Tippo just before the two performances at the Cowell Theatre two day showcase art festival but David had been playing with him since recruiting him to perform with him on a three and a half hour late-night concert on 09.03.2006 at the Roy O. Disney Music Hall, CalArts. Current Tippo Members: David B. Leikam on mogue R., Zachary Morris on drums(et), Areni Agbabian on piano / voice, and Sean Price on modular synthesizers