The Allman Brothers Band: Peakin' at the Beacon

C. Michael Bailey By

Sign in to view read count
The Allman Brothers Band: Peakin' at the Beacon

Everything is right...and wrong with the latest Allman Brothers Band release.

This is likely to be the last new release of an Allman Brother's recording with founding member Richard Betts in tow. Betts was unceremoniously fired from the band earlier this year, prompting this critic to wonder how the founding member of a band can be fired. Moreover, how that member who contributed "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed", "Blue Skies", "Jessica", and "Ramblin' Man", the only true commercial success the band has ever had, could be let go. That is all an aside, there is a lot of music on this latest ABB release, and all of it is live.

The majority of material on Peakin' at the Beacon was derived from the bands first three studio recordings, with "Seven Turns" (from 1990s Epic release by the same name) and "High Falls", a 27 plus minute Betts instrumental work out from 1975's bathetic Win, Lose, or Draw (Polydor 531263). It is all capably if not a bit stiffly played. New to the band are Derek Trucks on guitars, who has obviously done his homework on the AAB (as his uncle is Butch Trucks) and Oteil Burbridge on bass. Added also was percussionist Marc Quinones. Together, this current band comes closest to the ABB sound of the early 1970s that any other assembly, including the one with the late Allen Woody and Warren Hayes. Trucks provides a fat and precise slide guitar best in evidence on "Stand Back". He lacks the white-hot fire of Duane Allman but is a more competent slide guitarist that Warren Hayes. Trucks' interplay with Betts is empathetic and inspired. Oteil Burbridge comes closer to that old ABB sound than anyone does also. "High Falls" with its pregnant bass chording, forces one to recall "Mountain Jam".

This disc leaves the stalwart listener with the dilemma of the band losing another arm while growing into what looks like a very interesting group. I choose to look forward to the release of the Dickey Betts Band's first recording Let's Get Together (Free Falls 7017, 2001) and the future ABB releases. I will forgive the band for now.

Track Listing: Don't Want You No More; It's Not My Cross To Bear; Ain't Wastin' Time No More; Every Hungry Woman; Please Call Home; Stand Back; Black Hearted Woman; Leave My Blues At Home; Seven Turns; High Falls. (Total Time: 70:00)

Personnel: Gregg Allman: Keyboards, Vocals; Richard Betts: Guitars; Derek Trucks: Guitars; Jaimoe: Drums; Butch Trucks: Drums; Marc Quinones: Percussion; Oteil Burbridge: Bass.

Title: Peakin' at the Beacon | Year Released: 2001 | Record Label: Epic Records


comments powered by Disqus

More Articles

Read The Better Angels of Our Nature CD/LP/Track Review The Better Angels of Our Nature
by Karl Ackermann
Published: July 20, 2017
Read What Brought You Here? CD/LP/Track Review What Brought You Here?
by Troy Dostert
Published: July 20, 2017
Read My Head Is Listening CD/LP/Track Review My Head Is Listening
by John Sharpe
Published: July 20, 2017
Read Passin' Thru CD/LP/Track Review Passin' Thru
by Ian Patterson
Published: July 20, 2017
Read Ugly Beauty CD/LP/Track Review Ugly Beauty
by Nick Davies
Published: July 20, 2017
Read Relaxin’ With the Miles Davis Quintet CD/LP/Track Review Relaxin’ With the Miles Davis Quintet
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: July 19, 2017
Read "Mobiles Vol. 1" CD/LP/Track Review Mobiles Vol. 1
by James Nadal
Published: May 1, 2017
Read "The Stone House" CD/LP/Track Review The Stone House
by Mark Sullivan
Published: January 27, 2017
Read "Been Up So Long It Looks Like Down to Me: The Micros Play the Blues" CD/LP/Track Review Been Up So Long It Looks Like Down to Me: The Micros Play...
by Troy Dostert
Published: March 3, 2017
Read "What Time Is It?" CD/LP/Track Review What Time Is It?
by Jack Bowers
Published: June 6, 2017
Read "Of Earth And Sky" CD/LP/Track Review Of Earth And Sky
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: July 23, 2016
Read "Noumenon" CD/LP/Track Review Noumenon
by Karl Ackermann
Published: November 23, 2016

Support All About Jazz: MAKE A PURCHASE  

Support our sponsor

Upgrade Today!

Musician? Boost your visibility at All About Jazz and drive traffic to your website with our Premium Profile service.