Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...

6

Noah Rosen / Alan Siva: O.I.L. (Orchestrated Improvised Lives)

Eyal Hareuveni By

Sign in to view read count
Alan Silva is one of the last true heroes of free jazz and improvised music. He was at the right place, at the right time with his own powerful sound. He played, while still playing the double bass, on some of the formative recordings of the forefathers of the sixties free jazz as Albert Ayler, Sun Ra, Cecil Taylor, Bill Dixon, {[Andrew Hill}} and many others. Later on his own Celestrial Communication Orchestra and Sound Visions Orchestra, when he began to explore the sound of synthesizers, he assembled and united many of the leading figures in today's music—Anthony Braxton, William Parker, members of the Art Ensemble Of Chicago, Joe Morris and others.

Silva will celebrate his 75th anniversary on January 2014. The album O.I.L. (Orchestrated Improvised Lives) marks the beginning of this celebration. It is a recording of Silva on orchestral synthesizer improvising with pianist Noah Rosen / Alan Siva, Brooklyn-native and a long- time resident of Paris (as Silva), a former student of Hill And Dixon.

The live, free improvised recording was done in November 2011 and April 2012. Rosen and Silva act as abstract painters, laying broad sweeps of concrete sounds, playing with massive orchestral textures, sudden changes of energy, colors, pulses and timbral depth. There are no clear structures in the three free-form improvisations tough the improvisations eventually gravitate unto distinct yet loose form and atmosphere. The focus is on deep listening, tight and supportive interplay, intense and nuanced exploration, the orchestral options, and patient and organic sound-oriented progression.

The two create their own highly personal sonic universe. Silva's sonic vocabulary is always deep and fresh, accessible even with its otherworldly sounds and his playing is opinionated but free from any sonic attachments. Rosen's piano playing highlights the sense of space that Silva's synthesizer radiates but at times anchors Silva's flights with almost blues-based lines.

Impressive demonstration of two free-minded masters in direct action.

Track Listing: The road To Hell Is Paved With Good Intentions; Flèche Dans Le Jardin; Two Buck Chuck

Personnel: Noah Rosen: piano; Alan Silva: orchestral synthesizer.

Title: O.I.L. (Orchestrated Improvised Lives) | Year Released: 2013 | Record Label: Improvised Beings

Tags

Watch

comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read We Are On The Edge: A 50th Anniversary Celebration Album Reviews
We Are On The Edge: A 50th Anniversary Celebration
By Mark Corroto
April 25, 2019
Read Golem Dance Album Reviews
Golem Dance
By Friedrich Kunzmann
April 25, 2019
Read New Jazz Standards, Vol. 4 Album Reviews
New Jazz Standards, Vol. 4
By Dan Bilawsky
April 24, 2019
Read Open Form For Society Album Reviews
Open Form For Society
By Mark Corroto
April 24, 2019
Read Yes Album Reviews
Yes
By John Sharpe
April 24, 2019
Read Avec le temps Album Reviews
Avec le temps
By Mark Sullivan
April 23, 2019
Read Snaketime: The Music Of Moondog Album Reviews
Snaketime: The Music Of Moondog
By Mark Corroto
April 23, 2019