Home » Jazz News » "The Singing Saxstress Of Soul'"- Ava Lemert Set To Ligh...

Recording News

"The Singing Saxstress Of Soul'"- Ava Lemert Set To Light Up Music World With Her New Album: "12welve"


Sign in to view read count
Universal Motown Digital (UniMO) is proud to announce Ava Lemert's new album, “12welve" is now available for instant download from Amazon mp3 for $8.99 or for just $9.99 iTunes will include an exclusive full-size, full-color six-page digital CD booklet designed by Ava herself. California-based soul vocalist/saxophonist Ava Lemert's latest CD project was mastered by Pete Maher, owner of Top Floor Music topfloormusic.co.uk, who's worked with some of the biggest Grammy-winners in music history such as Katy Perry, U2, The Killers and Kelly Clarkson, to name just a few. The best equipment and techniques have been employed to ensure that the music of 12welve has “major-label quality" sound from start to finish!

Ava Lemert is poised to make a big noise in the world of R&B/Soul with her white-hot vocals and sizzling sultry sax on tracks such as “Ain't No Turning Back Now" a powerful soul anthem, and a fight song, if you will, for standing up for your rights, making a statement, and breaking the silence about who you are and what you represent. Another standout track from 12welve, “A Mother's Song" is an R&B ballad with sweet vocal harmonies and tender lyrics that come straight from the heart. Ava's lusciously-blended vocals reminds one of the “slow jams" from great 70's soul girl-groups such as The Emotions or Love Unlimited. The song was written by Ava to her young son, John, and is intended to be a 'lullaby for today.' “A Mother's Song," is set to be one of the hits from the new disc with a personal and emotional punch that is endearing.

12welve is a carefully bred R&B project with a generous dose of soul, jazz, funk and a dash of pop blended together as only the Singing Saxstress of Soul can, creating an unmistakable and universally appealing collection of songs that everyone will love.

What the CD’s Name “12welve” Represents

The CD’s name represents more than the year 2012. It actually is a tribute to her Dad, Bob Sirkegian, who was the pivotal inspiration for her new CD. Sirkegian’s number as a record-setting motorcycle racer was the number 12, and it has always been a lucky number in her household growing up.

The name 12welve also represents her breakthrough album in the year 2012 as she returns to her own style of R&B/Soul music, linking contemporary R&B with her Jazz background and catchy Pop sensibilities. The latest CD features more of Ava's powerful R&B/Soul vocals while keeping her instrument of choice —the saxophone— boldly represented throughout the album. It is a unique style with elements of “old school" Motown R&B with contemporary production techniques and a dash of jazzy sophistication.

Availability — UPDATED APRIL 17, 2012:

12welve is now available for purchase worldwide in both digital mp3 download format via: iTunes (worldwide), Amazon mp3, Google Play, Spotify and many more. Physical copies of the album are available exclusively distributed through Amazon.com and are eligible for special offers including: Free Super Saver Shipping, 1-Click ordering, and Amazon Wishlist.

About Ava Lemert

Ava Lemert grew up in Covina, California and is one of the most innovative and unique jazz musicians in the music industry today. Her sound can be described as jazz fusion with a noticeable pop influence. In addition to being a talented saxophonist, clarinetist, composer and vocalist, Ava is also a graphic designer and her artwork has been seen on TV, in print and can be viewed on her web sites. She is also a volunteer for several charities, a local elementary school and also enjoys performing for residents at local assisted living and memory care facilities.

Ava has played concerts and festivals in several cities across the state of California, wowing not only mature audiences but also younger people with an ear for great music and artistry. As a brand, Ava Lemert is relentlessly creative and unique, constantly pushing the boundaries of genre to give the listener a memorable experience. Ava's dedication and love for her craft has been noticed by the Great Unknowns Presents —Los Angeles taste-makers who have nominated Ava for Best Jazz Artist in the 2012 Artists in Music Awards taking place at the Key Club in Hollywood, February 10th, 2012.

The Track Listing For 12welve:

  1. Flow On
  2. I Think It's Love
  3. Far Away Places
  4. Workin' on a Groovy Thing*
  5. Ain't No Turning Back Now
  6. Impress Me
  7. Let's Be Real
  8. Feeling Naughty
  9. Something to Prove
  10. A Mother's Song
  11. Drive Me Crazy
  12. Junior's Jam

Visit Website | Purchase


View events near Sacramento
Jazz Near Sacramento
Events Guide | Venue Guide | Local Businesses | More...

Jazz News


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.