Home » Jazz News » Spring LLC Releases Compilation CD Featuring Mike Phillips and Jil...

Recording News

Spring LLC Releases Compilation CD Featuring Mike Phillips and Jill Scott in New Version of "Street Life"


Sign in to view read count
Putting the cool back into jazz...

Pop-Jazz Volume 1
Spring LLC Releases Compilation CD
Featuring Mike Phillips and Jill Scott in New Version of “Street Life"
September 2007 Tour Confirmed

New York, NY -- Spring LLC, a New York based music company, has released Pop-Jazz Volume 1. Featuring a brand new rendition of “Street Life" by Mike Phillips and Jill Scott, the 15-track compilation contains music from current artists that epitomize the Pop-Jazz movement like Soulive and Janek Gwizdala--as well as classic artists including Nancy Wilson and Donald Byrd, some of the first artists to push the envelope of traditional jazz. Pop-Jazz Volume 1's track list fuses hip-hop, soul, funk, pop and rock with influences that appeal to the next generation of jazz fans.

The album includes tracks from an eclectic mix of jazz artists who have redefined the standards of a musical genre. From the jazz-funk fusion sounds of The Blackbyrds to the soul-jazz stylings of jazz flautist Bobbi Humphrey, Pop-Jazz Volume 1 provides a varied overview of the best in jazz fusion.

Pop-Jazz Volume 1 was previewed at Spring LLC's 2006 BMW Pop-Jazz Live Tour, an exclusive, invitation-only event sponsored by BMW. Mike Phillips served as headliner for the tour, which kicked off in the birthplace of jazz--New Orleans--and made stops in cities nationwide, including New York, Chicago, Atlanta, DC and LA. Pop-Jazz Volume 1 will be available through various retail outlets, including Amazon.com, CDBaby and Spring Direct.

Pop-Jazz Volume 1 Track List:

1. Street Life (Mike Phillips featuring Jill Scott)
2. Rock Creek Park (The Blackbyrds)
3. Jasper Country Man (Bobbi Humphrey)
4. It's A Shame (Paul Jackson Jr.)
5. Too Late To Turn Back (El Michels Affair)
6. I've Got Nothing To Lose But the Blues (Gwen McCrae)
7. Ode to Billie Joe (Nancy Wilson)
8. Street Lady (Donald Byrd)
9. Darkness (Janek Gwizdala)
10. Use Me (Esther Phillips)
11. I Got The (Labi Siffre)
12. Ne-Ne (Soulive)
13. Funkin' For Jamaica (Tom Browne)
14. Flow (Mike Phillips)
15. You Might Need Somebody (Randy Crawford)

About Spring LLC

Based in New York City, Spring LLC is an innovative hybrid marketing company/record label that leverages existing music assets and partners with corporate brands to execute targeted, multi-platform marketing campaigns. To do so, catalogue music and established recording artists are repackaged to create a one-of-a-kind, totally immersive, impactful and emotive experience that resonates with a wider audience and, thereby, generates a better return for brand partners, recording artists and Spring alike. The result is a new type of music company that is not only changing how music is financed and marketed, but is also redefining the music in the process and directly--and powerfully--connecting with consumers.

Visit Website

For more information contact .


Jazz News


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.