Sokoband to Release New Album


Sign in to view read count
Sokoband (formerly “Soko"), prog/jazz/jamband ensemble from Charlottesville, VA will release Sokoband on March 9, 2010. The eponymous work is a maximum-capacity CD containing 10 tracks, eight of which are new versions of the songs from Soko's 1997 debut album, In November Sunlight. The other two are previously unreleased; the first is a modern take on an old Mike Sokolowski ballad, and the other is a lush tenor sax-driven piece built on a percussion jam from Soko's second album (Two) sessions.

Sokoband is Michael Sokolowski (keyboards), Houston Ross (bass, guitars) and Nir Z (drums). The band has also been blessed to work with grammy-winning cellist, David Darling again in the studio. His radiant, ethereal-yet-earthy cello tones complete the new arrangement of the record's deepest improvisational dive, “Body Home." Jam band guitar hero Steve Kimock lends his soaring lap steel and searing electric leads to the new version of “Jiriki" opposite Tim Reynolds' fiery acoustic playing and Dave Matthews' dancing vocal jams. Broadening the guitar palette with precision, soul, and a diversity of styles are Mike Colley, John Zias and Tom Harbeck. Leroi Moore, George Brooks, Charles Owens, Bobby Read, Jay Rodriguez, David CasT, and Greg Howard complete the saxophone army. (Mr. Moore's “In November Sunlight" soprano solo is perhaps the defining moment of this new collection.) Trumpeter John D'Earth and trombonist Mark Maynard bring the punchy brass to the Coast to Coast horn section.

Visit sokoband.com for more info, track samples, and pre-ordering. Digital downloads are available now at the iTunes music store and CDBaby.com

Visit Website | Purchase

For more information contact .


Jazz Near Charlottesville
Events Guide | Venue Guide | Local Businesses | More...

Shop Amazon

Jazz News


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.