Home » News » See-I Prepares Debut on Fort Knox Recordings

Recording News

See-I Prepares Debut on Fort Knox Recordings


Sign in to view read count
Fort Knox Recordings presents the debut album from See-I entitled See-I. Long time Fort Knox collaborators Arthur “Rootz" Steele and Archie “Zeebo" Steele bring their band's unique brand of Reggae—injected with heavy doses of Funk, Soul, Dub and Rock—to the Fort Knox vault. We are proud and excited to be releasing their debut album.

The story begins with two brothers, Rootz and Zeebo, who found their way from college in North Carolina via the Caribbean only to end up in Washington, DC. It was in the cultural melting pot of the Nation's capital that they developed their creative and musical talents. In the heady days of the late 1980s, the brothers Steele would launch the project that has defined their lives: See-I. They quickly became a fixture of DC's burgeoning Reggae scene crossing paths with Reggae aficionado Eric Hilton who was determined to include them in his future projects. Hilton was opening the Eighteenth Street Lounge and associated record label, and brought Rootz and Zeebo on board. Throughout the 90's and into the coming millennium they would go on to record, perform and tour with Thievery Corporation.

n in 2005 Zeebo and Rootz started a regular Wednesday night gig at the Eighteenth Street Lounge that would see them coalescing one of the greatest live bands the city has ever seen. Slowly gathering momentum, guest musicians and members—from the Thievery Live band and the Chuck Brown band amongst others—the See-I live band would grow into a nationwide touring phenomenon, and are now considered one of America's premier Reggae party bands.

At long last, after years of live performances, an album has been made. Produced by Zeebo, Enea Diotaiuti and Rob Myers (Sitar/Guitar with Thievery Corporation, Thunderball and Fort Knox Five), See-I's 13-track debut album is an epic showcase of the energy, sound and talent of this exciting group. This is Reggae music for music lovers, so sit back and enjoy the ride!

See-I Feature Shows: 07/02/11—Darlington, MD—PEX Summer Festival 07/03/11—Washington, DC—U Street Music Hall

Tour Dates withThievery Corporation:
  • 06/04/11—Ozark, AK—Wakarusa Music Festival
  • 06/24/11—Brooklyn, NY—Brooklyn Waterfront
  • 06/25/11—Atlantic City, NJ—Caravan Festival
  • 08/13/11—Aspen, CO—Belly Up
  • 08/14/11—Morrison, CO—Red Rocks Amphitheatre
  • 09/01/11—Salt Lake City, UT
  • 09/02/11—Aspen, CO—Aspen Jazz Festival
  • 09/04/11—Chicago, IL—North Shore Festival + Full show at night
About Fort Knox Recordings: Fort Knox Recordings is the renegade funk n' soul label from Washington DC. Established in 2003, our mission is to explore the funkier side of global music. Fort Knox is set to 'Tell It Like It Is' by smashing the artificial barriers established by the 'System' that keeps all 'Good' music down. Forget about tempos and genres—we want to take you back to the roots and reunite all music from our funk, dub and soul brothers—you dig? So stop being so serious, this is music, it's supposed to be fun.

Visit Website | Purchase

For more information contact .




Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.