Ry Cooder Anthology: "The UFO Has Landed" Released to Critical Acclaim


Sign in to view read count
Rhino takes a joy ride through Ry Cooder's prolific career with a two-CD collection of his work as a solo artist and soundtrack composer. Available now for a suggested list price of $29.98, THE UFO HAS LANDED: THE RY COODER ANTHOLOGY collection is also available at all digital outlets for a suggested list price of $16.99.

Produced by Cooder's son, Joachim, the 34-song compilation offers a fresh look at Cooder's musical career, spanning 38 years--from his eponymous 1970 debut to this year's I, Flathead--and includes the previously unreleased version of “Let's Work Together." featuring accordion player Buckwheat Zydeco, drummer Jim Keltner, pianist Jim Dickinson and bassist Mike Elizondo. Along with his solo work, THE UFO HAS LANDED features selections from Cooder's film soundtracks, including the themes from Southern Comfort and Paris, Texas.

The critically-acclaimed reviews have landed:

“...this is an impressive and relatively inclusive recap that is a fine starting point for anyone interested in delving into Ry Cooder's extensive and influential career". 4 1/2 stars. - All Music Guide

“...as much slide guitar blues eloquence as youll find in our time" Buffalo News

“Highly recommended!" Hickory Wind.org

“When Cooder plays the slide-guitar theme of the road movie 'Paris Texas,' you'll marvel how the notes shimmer like heat haze on asphalt". Christian Science Monitor

Listen to an exclusive 10-track listening party:

The UFO Has Landed: The Ry Cooder Anthology

Listening Party Track list:
1. Low Commotion
2. Let's Work Together
3. On A Monday
4. Maria Elena
5. Down In Hollywood
6. Paris, Texas
7. Theme From Southern Comfort
8. Billy The Kid
9. Why Don't You Try Me
10. Going Back To Okinawa

Visit Website | Purchase

For more information contact .



Shop Amazon

Jazz News


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.