Home » Jazz News » Neil Peart Wins "Drummies of the Year"

Award / Grant News

Neil Peart Wins "Drummies of the Year"


Sign in to view read count
He's done it again: Neil Peart has been selected Drummer Of The Year in DRUM! Magazine's Drummies 2008

Drum Magazine's prestigious reader survey contest comprised of 42 categories, conducted by Enter Music Publishing, publishers of hip/drum percussion magazines worldwide. More than 5000 drummers nominated Peart; the runners-up were Stanton Moore, Mike Portnoy and Jimmy Sullivan.

Additionally, Peart won “Best Live Performer."

Peart has definitely shown his influence on drummers of all ages and walks of life. At the same time, the runners-up demonstrate the diversity of taste that our readers have. All of the winners have clearly proven their commitment to the drumming arts.
-Phil Hood, publisher Enter Music Publishing.

Stanton Moore: Struts Up As A Runner-Up

Stanton Moore is a good example of a drummer, as Hood aptly notates, who is so obsessed with forwarding traditional New Orleans drumming. He could be considered a new stuttin' player carrying the meter messages of drummers, such as Zig Modeliste, Russell Batiste and Johnny Vidacovich. He was the cover of DRUM! in January of this year. Moore, additionally, has been active in the resurrection of the Crescent City. Maybe that's why it's so poetic that he recieved a runner-up.

The winners of this year's Drummies will be published in DRUM!'s August issue and announced publicly on over 500 web sites and media outlets beginning July 1 in a comprehensive campaign. The August Issue of DRUM! Magazine hits newsstands officially on July 14.

The winners and runners-up are listed in order below. Enter Music Publishing would like to, once again, congratulate all of them.

Best Drummer of the Year-WINNER: Neil Peart
Runners-Up: Stanton Moore, Mike Portnoy, Jimmy Sullivan
Best Rising Star-WINNER: Thomas Pridgen
Runners-Up: Cody Hanson, Matt Smith, Spencer Smith
Best Progessive-WINNER: Mike Portnoy
Runners-Up: Neil Peart, Gavin Harrison, Danny Carey
Best Metal-WINNER: Chris Adler
Runners-Up: Jason Bittner, Joey Jordison, Brann Dailor
Best Jam Band-WINNER: Carter Beauford
Runners-Up: Stanton Moore, Matt Abts, Jim Donovan
Best Jazz-WINNER: Steve Smith
Runners-Up: Peter Erskine, Billy Hart, Billy Kilson
Best Funk-WINNER: Chad Smith
Runners-Up: Stanton Moore, Zoro, Aaron Spears
Best Urban-WINNER: ?uestlove
Runners-Up: Aaron Spears, Trevor Lawrence Jr., Teddy Campbell
Best Mainstream Pop-WINNER: Taylor Hawkins
Runners-Up: Neil Peart, Chad Smith, Travis Barker
Best Alternative-WINNER: Sam Loeffler
Runners-Up: Brooks Wackerman , Atom Willard, Travis Barker
Best Punk-WINNER: Travis Barker
Runners-Up: Tr Cool, Brooks Wackerman, Bill Stevenson
Best R&B/Blues-WINNER: Zoro
Runners-Up: Stanton Moore, Aaron Spears, Teddy Campbell
Best Country-WINNER: Jim Riley
Runners-Up: Paul Leim, Eddie Bayers, Ben Sesar
Best Drum Clinician-WINNER: Thomas Lang
Runners-Up: JoJo Mayer, Stanton Moore, Mike Mangini
Best Studio-WINNER: Vinnie Colaiuta
Runners-Up: Steve Gadd, Josh Freese, Rodney Holmes
Best Live Performer-WINNER: Neil Peart
Runners-Up: Stanton Moore, Jimmy Sullivan, Mike Portnoy

Best Drum Kit-WINNER: DW Collector's Twisted Exotics
Runners-Up: Pearl Masters MCX, Tama Starclassic Perfomer Bubinga/Birch, Ludwig Legacy
Best Snare Drum-WINNER: Black Panther Thick Flame Maple
Runners-Up: Tama 13" Warlord Limited Edition, Pro-Mark 50th Anniversary, Yamaha 14" x 5.5" Kabuto
Best Custom Drum Maker-WINNER: SJC
Runners-Up: Pork Pie, Craviotto, Orange County Drums & Percussion
Best Cymbal WINNER: Zildjian Armand Series
Runners-Up: Sabian 20" HHX Evolution O-Zone Crash, Paiste Twenty Series, Zildjian 22" K Medium Dark Ride
Best Drumhead-WINNER: Evans EC1
Runners-Up: Remo Powerstroke X Snare, Remo Vintage A, Aquarian Super-2
Best Sticks-WINNER: Vic Firth Danny Carey Nylon Tip Signature
Runners-Up: Vater Limited Edition 2007 Stewart Copeland Standard, Zildjian Backbeat Series, Pro-Mark Chris Adler model
Best Hardware-WINNER: DW 8000 Series Pedals
Runners-Up: Tama Iron Cobra Rolling Glide Pedals with Cobra Coil Speed Spring, Pearl 900 Series, Tama Stage Master
Best Percussion-WINNER: LP John Dolmayan Mini-Timbale
Runners-Up: Pearl Travel Conga, LP More Cowbell Ridge Rider Bell Pack, Remo Key-Tuned Djembe
Best Accessory-WINNER: Zildjian Travis Barker Artist Series Bags
Runners-Up: Vater Safe 'N Sound Earplugs, SKB Roto-X cases, Aquarian Super-Thin Kickpads
Best Electronic Percussion-WINNER: Roland HD-1 V-Drums Lite
Runners-Up: Yamaha DTXpress IV, Roland PM-01 Personal Monitor, Alesis DM5 Pro

Best Percussionist of the Year-WINNER: Luis Conte
Runners-Up: Giovanni Hidalgo, Fausto Cuevas, Taku Hirano
Best Rising Star-WINNER: Cesar Espinoza
Runners-Up: Carlos Maldonado, A.B. Bermudez, Eric Velez
Best Latin-WINNER-Richie Flores. Runners-Up: A.B. Bermudez, Giovanni Hidalgo, Poncho Sanchez
Best Jazz/Fusion-WINNER: Sammy Figueroa
Runners-Up: Richie Flores, A.B. Bermudez, Cyro Baptista
Best Percussion Clinician-WINNER: Jesus Diaz
Runners-Up: Giovanni Hidalgo, Alex Acua, Valerie Naranjo
Best Rock/Pop-WINNER: Luis Conte
Runners-Up: Fausto Cuevas, Raul Rekow, Jim Donovan
Best Worldbeat-WINNER: Valerie Naranjo
Runners-Up: Zakir Hussain, Taku Hirano, Cyro Baptista
Best Percussion Ensemble-WINNER: Hip Pickles
Runners-Up: Blue Man Group, San Jose Taiko, Concord Blue Devils
Best Drum Circle Facilitator-WINNER: Jim Donovan
Runners-Up: Valerie Naranjo, John Scalici, Chet Doboe
Best Studio-WINNER: Luis Conte
Runners-Up: Lenny Castro, Emil Richards, Robert Vilera
Best Live Performer-WINNER: Marc Quiones
Runners-Up: Alex Acua, Hip Pickles, Jim Donovan

Best DVD-WINNER: Secret Weapons for the Modern Drummer by Jojo Mayer
Runners-Up: In Constant Motion by Mike Portnoy, Ultimate Realistic Rock by Carmine Appice, Billy Cobham Live At 60 by Billy Cobham
Best Book-WINNER: On The Beaten Path: The Drummer's Guide to Musical Styles and the Legends Who Defined Them by Rich Lackowski
Runners-Up: Drumming Out of the Shadows by Jason Bittner, Hands, Grooves and Fills by Pat Petrillo, Jimi Hendrix: Smash Hits Play-Along
Best Drumming Album-WINNER: Hellyeah by Hellyeah
Runners-Up: Obzen by Meshuggah, Avenged Sevenfold by Avenged Sevenfold, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace by Foo Fighters Best Hand Percussion Album-WINNER: The Magician by Sammy Figueroa
Runners-Up: Global Drum Project by Mickey Hart, Akir Hussain, Sikiru Adepoju, and Giovanni Hidalgo, Raise Your Hand by Poncho Sanchez, Marimbula by Luis Conte
Best Web Site-WINNER: drummerworld.com
Runners-Up: pearldrum.com, drumsmith.com, drumbum.com
Best Print Advertisement-WINNER: Pearl “Chad Smith Grammy Magnet."
Runners-Up: DW “My Name Is," Pro-Mark “Say It With Your Music," Tama “Blue Man Group"

About Enter Music Publishing:
Founded in San Jose, CA in 1992, Enter Music Publishing, Inc. is a leading publisher of drum/percussion magazines, with distribution in 40 countries. DRUM! is the flagship publication of Enter Music Publishing, Inc. and continues to set the industry standard for editorial quality and innovation. In addition to DRUM! and DRUM! Digital, the company publishes Traps and HOW TO PLAY DRUMS. Additional information about the company can be found at drummagazine.com.

Visit Website

For more information contact .




Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.