Home » Jazz News » Matthew Alec And The Soul Electric Release Debut Album 'Cleveland...

Recording News

Matthew Alec And The Soul Electric Release Debut Album 'Cleveland Time' Feat. Tom 'bones' Malone


Sign in to view read count
Cleveland, OH jazz-fusion group Matthew Alec and The Soul Electric have got a rhythmic step in the down and dirty direction with some legit golden era funk that grabs the grooves of Tower of Power and snazzy sensibilities of The Greyboy Allstars.
—Glide Magazine
Jazz fusion ensemble Matthew Alec and The Soul Electric has released their new album Cleveland Time via Cleveland Time Records. Working alongside Cleveland-based producer Jim Stewart, the album was recorded in two separate sessions because of the ongoing pandemic. Fans can stream Cleveland Time from here.

Cleveland Time marks the first album release from the group that features Matthew Alec (tenor saxophone and EWI), Brian Woods (piano, keyboards, organs, plus vocals on “Give What You Take” and “Baby You Got Me”), Steven Forest Sanders (guitar, plus vocals on “Enigma Man”), Jared Lees (bass), Jeremiah Hawkins (percussion, plus drums on “Baby You Got Me”), and Leon Henault (drums). The album also features special guests Tom ‘Bones’ Malone (trombone and horn section on “Cleveland Time”), MINUS THE ALIEN (vocals on “Cleveland Time”), and Tim Coyne (trumpet on “Blues For McCoy” and “Enigma Man”). Tomorrow night, the band will be presenting an album release stream live from music venue Bop Stop in Cleveland at 8p ET on Bop Stop's Facebook page. The show will be free to watch, but any donations for the band can be made here.

“This album has a little bit of everything in it which is exactly what I set out to do,” says saxophonist Matthew Alec. “I wanted a few tunes that were short with strong hooks that would capture people’s attention, I wanted to feature our two vocalists on a tune of their own, I wanted to have at least a couple of traditional modern jazz tunes for the jazz fans out there, and I wanted to feature an industry legend… where I completely lucked out and found Bones Malone who loved the project. Whether you’re a jazz, funk, soul, or even pop music fan I think this album has something on it for you.”

To celebrate the album release, Matthew Alec and The Soul Electric have shared a video for “Never With You.” Fans can check out the new music video here.

Prior to the album release, Matthew Alec and The Soul Electric shared singles “Give What You Take,” “Cleveland Time,” and “Baby You Got Me.” From the heartfelt meaning behind “Baby You Got Me” to the busy, bustling sounds of “Cleveland Time” and the genre-bending experience provided by “Give What You Take,” the singles have all made appearances on sites such as Jazziz, SoulTracks, Jazz Monthly, Cleveland.com, Glide Magazine, and more.

Cleveland Time Track Listing

  • Give What You Take
  • Baby You Got Me
  • Cleveland Time
  • Never With You
  • Enigma Man
  • Blues For McCoy
  • Sunshine On Prospect
Jazz. Funk. Pop. Soul. Blues. These genres all describe the eclectic high-energy jazz fusion group Matthew Alec and The Soul Electric. Led by saxophonist Matthew Alec, the six-piece ensemble boasts a roster of talented and accomplished musicians with very diverse backgrounds that came together with the goal of combining the technical artistry of jazz with all the hooks associated with pop music.

Visit Website | Purchase

For more information contact .

Post a comment


View events near Cleveland
Jazz Near Cleveland
Events Guide | Venue Guide | Local Businesses | More...

Jazz News


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.