Home » News » Loudon Wainwright III: Five-Disc Box Set

Recording News

Loudon Wainwright III: Five-Disc Box Set


Sign in to view read count

40 Odd Years into an exceptionally prolific and storied career, Loudon Wainwright III is being celebrated with an aptly named career-spanning 4-CD/1-DVD box set, including a 40-page book, with an essay by renowned journalist/author David Wild and an introduction by filmmaker and box set co-producer Judd Apatow, to be released by Shout! Factory on May 3, 2011.

The first 200 to pre-order from ShoutFactory.com will receive an exclusive booklet signed by Loudon Wainwright III himself. Click here for more details.

40 Odd Years features songs from throughout Wainwright's career, including works of brilliance such as “The Man Who Couldn't Cry" from 1973's Attempted Mustache, which Johnny Cash would record with producer Rick Rubin decades later, to the genuinely odd “Dead Skunk," which became a #16 pop hit and thus a true novelty in the Wainwright canon, to highlights from his most recent projects, including cuts from High Wide & Handsome: The Charlie Poole Project. The 3+ hour DVD includes an extremely rare documentary made for Dutch television entitled One Man Guy, TV appearances on the BBC, Saturday Night Live, and Austin City Limits, as well as several unreleased concert performances.

Disc One: 1969-1983

1 School Days
2 I Don't Care
3 Uptown
4 Be Careful There's A Baby In The House
5 Saw Your Name In The Paper
6 Dead Skunk
7 New Paint
8 Drinking Song
9 The Swimming Song
10 Dilated To Meet You
11 Down Drinking At The Bar
12 The Man Who Couldn't Cry
13 Whatever Happened To Us?
14 Crime Of Passion
15 Kick In The Head
16 Summer's Almost Over
17 Just Like President Thieu
18 Golfin' Blues
19 The Heckler
20 Natural Disaster
21 Red Guitar
22 Hollywood Hopeful
24 The Grammy Song

Disc Two: 1984-1995

1 Westchester County
2 I'm Alright
3 Screaming Issue
4 Unhappy Anniversary
5 Your Mother And I
6 Synchronicity
7 Hard Day On The Planet
8 You Don't Want To Know
9 Bill Of Goods
10 Thanksgiving
11 Your Father's Car
12 When I'm At Your House
13 The Picture
14 Men
15 So Many Songs
16 Tip That Waitress
17 I'd Rather Be Lonely
18 April Fool's Day Morn
19 The Acid Song
21 A Year
22 Dreaming

Disc Three: 1996-2010

1 So Damn Happy
2 Primrose Hill
3 Bein' A Dad
4 Four Mirrors
5 It's Love And I Hate It
6 Christmas Morning
7 Pretty Good Day
8 White Winos
9 Bed
10 Surviving Twin
11 The Shit Song
12 Between
13 My Biggest Fan
14 When You Leave
15 Make Your Mother Mad
16 Daughter
17 Grey In L.A.
18 Muse Blues
19 Motel Blues
20 The Deal
21 Rowena
22 High Wide & Handsome

Disc Four: Rare & Unreleased

1 Weave Room Blues (with Kate McGarrigle)
2 McSorley's
3 Black Uncle Remus (demo)
4 Funny Having Money
5 The Hardy Boys At The Y (with The Boys Of The Lough)
6 Laid (live)
7 Outsidey (live)
8 That Cat
9 Surfin' Queen (demo)
10 Newt
11 4X10 (live)
12 Somethin' Stupid (with Barry Humphries)
13 The Miles (live)
14 So Good So Far (live)
15 Big Fish
16 No Sure Way
17 Hey There 2nd Grader
18 More I Cannot Wish You
19 Florida (Lucky You)
20 Hank & Fred (live)
21 Your Eyes (demo)
22 Dead Man
23 At The End Of A Long Lonely Day (with Suzzy Roche)

Continue Reading...




Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.