Hope Waits' Debut Album Available July 26 on Spann Records


Sign in to view read count
Introducing Hope Waits—the debut release from enigmatic singer/songwriter Hope Waits—was released digitally July 26th on Spann Records. The debut recording from the Louisiana native brews up a sonic gumbo that will satisfy audiences' appetites for impassioned and beautifully handcrafted jazz-tinged blues music. In addition to the physical album's 12 tracks produced by Peter Malick (Norah Jones), the digital release includes two additional songs by the production team of David Kalish (Rickie Lee Jones, Nicolette Larson, Michelle Shocked) and Barrie Maguire (Amos Lee, Natalie Merchant, Wallflowers).

From the sparse opening crescendo of brushstrokes on a snare drum, Introducing Hope Waits instantly seduces the listener with the lead track, “I'll Be Satisfied." Waits masterfully morphs the Berry Gordy-penned, Jackie Wilson track from an upbeat and up-tempo hit to a slow and sensuous torch song. Waits proves a masterful interpreter on this wildly diverse album that ranges from the supper-club purr of Harold Arlen and Johnny Mercer's “Come Rain or Shine" to the roadhouse rawness of Don Robey's “Mother-in-Law Blues." Originals by Waits and producer-guitarist Peter Malick such as “Fortune Teller" and “The Ballad of Judith Anne" are imbued with a deeply personal sense of love and personal loss. While the David Kalish penned “I'll Be Home Tomorrow" is sure to invoke comparisons to Bonnie Raitt.

“My life really changed through the whole process of recording this album," says Waits. “I was still living in the South, so I'd come to Los Angeles every couple of months and do some tracks, stay a week, and then come back later. I think it was a great way to do it—I just don't see how you can build enough emotion behind your songs if you're going into the studio with everything just ready to go."

Recorded in Los Angeles at Chessvolt Studios and Silverlake's Redstar Recording Studio, Introducing Hope Waits also boasts an impressive roster of musicians including drummer Butch Norton (Wheels, Lucinda Williams), bassist Jeff Turmes (Mavis Staples, Janiva Magness) and veteran horn players David Woodford and Lee Thornburg. Waits' team of all-star musicians perfectly complement each of the album's 14 tracks—adding just the right touches of musical support, while still allowing Waits' evocative voice to always remain at the forefront.

For additional information please visit: http://www.hopewaits.com

Visit Website


Jazz News


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.