Home » Jazz News » Festival


Festival Of New Trumpet Music 2021 announces Brass Without Borders, September 8-15, 2021


Sign in to view read count
We have always been about escaping any boxes and genre/community boundaries. Last year we did the international series 'Brass Without Borders.' It was so powerful to connect globally that we decided to use this phrase as the title of the whole festival this year.
—Dave Douglas

For almost 20 years, the Festival Of New Trumpet Music has embraced innovation and the unheard. Led by Dave Douglas, this small festival defies stylistic categories and presents exciting music centered around the trumpet each year, in previous years at clubs and stages around New York City.

The pandemic-related all-digital version of 2020 was the occasion to be able to present trumpeters from all over the world for the first time. Now the format Brass Without Borders has become the theme of this year’s festival and once again brings together the worldwide trumpet community, at least virtually.

Festival of New Trumpet Music 2021 is particularly proud to support gender parity on the instrument and in the field. For the first time, male and female artists will be presented in equal numbers. This important development continues the festival’s dedication to the broadest possible view of what constitutes trumpet music, and who can make it. There is always more work to do, but this is a wonderful development for the field.

The annual Award of Recognition will be presented this year to trumpeter and composer Randy Brecker for his longtime contributions to the field.

Rounding out the exciting program is a workshop with British-Bahraini trumpet player Yazz Ahmed, which will be shared with Seattle JazzEd, El Paso Jazz Girls, Jazz St. Louis WIJO, the Louis Armstrong House Museum, and other educational institutions from around the nation.

September 8th

Hermon Mehari (France): Hermon Mehari (tp)

Balkan Paradise Orchestra (Spain): Alba Careta (tp), Berta Gala (tp), Mila González (tp), Eva Garín (cl), Laura Lacueva (cl), Alba Ramírez (frh), Maria Cofan (tb), Maria Puertas (tuba), Olivia Casas (tuba), Eli Fàbregas (perc), Núria Perich (dr)

Axel Doerner (Germany): Axel Doerner (tp/electr)

September 9th

Milena Casado (Spain/USA): Milena Casado (flh/comp), Dani Pérez (g), Manel Fortiá (b), Ramon Prats (dr)

Kali Rodriguez-Peña (USA/Cuba): Kalí Rodríguez-Peña (tp), Kazemde George (ts), Gabriel Chakarji (p), Hamish Smith (b), Zack O’Farrill (dr)

Gunhild Seim (Norway) Chattermark: Gunhild Seim (tp), John Lilja (b)

September 10th

Sarah Wilson (USA): Sarah Wilson (tp/voc), Charles Burnham (vl), John Schott (g), Myra Melford (p), Jerome Harris (b), Matt Wilson (dr)

Richard Nant (Argentina): Richard Nant New Quintet: Richard Nant (tp/perc/comp), Ricardo Cavali (ts), Alvaro Torres (p), Matias Mendez (eb), Sergio Verdinelli (dr)

Birgit Ulher (Germany): Birgit Ulher (concept/trumpet/radio/speaker/objects)

September 11th

Verneri Pohjola (Finland): Verneri Pohjola (tp), Mika Kallio (dr)

Audrey Powne (Australia): Audrey Powne (tp), James Bowers (Keys), Myka Wallace (dr)

Suzan Veneman (Netherlands): Suzan Veneman (tp/flh), Alvaro Artime Jimenez (tp/flh), Gidon Nunes Vaz (tp/flh), Kurt Weiss (tp/flh), Tijs Klaassen (b), Wouter Kühne (dr)

September 12th

Yazz Ahmed (UK) Workshop (2:30pm ET)

Lukas Frei (Switzerland): Lukas Frei (tp), Simon Spiess (ts), Jeremias Keller (b), Fred Bürki (dr)

Sheila Maurice-Grey (UK): Sheila Maurice-Grey (flh), Renato Paris (keys), Arthur O’hara (b)

Lina Allemano (Canada) Bloop: Lina Allemano (tp), Mike Smith (live-processing/effects)

September 13th

Emily Kuhn (USA): Emily Kuhn (tp), Ben Cruz (G), Meghan Stagl (p), Kitt Lyles (b), Gustavo Cortiñas (dr)

Delbert Anderson Featuring Ddat (USA): Delbert Anderson (tp), James Pakootas (Voc), Mike Mccluhan (b), Nicholas Lucero (dr)

Adam Cuthbert (USA): Adam Cuthbert (tp/electr)

September 14th

Mao Soné (Japan): Mao Soné (tp), David Bryant (p)

Mary Elizabeth Bowden (USA)

Sthembiso Bhengu (South Africa): Sthembiso Bhengu (tp), Sanele Phakathi (p), Dalisu Ndlazi (b), Sphelelo Mazibuko (dr)

September 15th

Randy Brecker (USA) – Award of Recognition: Randy Brecker (tp), Ada Rovatti (ss), Gil Goldstein (p)
All performances start at 7pm (EDTGMT-4) and will be streamed on YouTube and Facebook. On certain nights there will be live talks on Facebook after the presentation.

The concerts are free of charge. Donations will enable us to continue to promote, commission and present new music for trumpet and brass.

Visit Website | Purchase Tickets






Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.