Home » Jazz News » Recording

Backgrounder: Roberto Menescal - A Nova Bossa


Sign in to view read count
Guitarist-composer Roberto Menescal is one of the bossa nova's pioneers. Though his songs were recorded by other artists years earlier, his first leadership album, A Nova Bossa, was released in 1964 and it was a stunner. The album featured Roberto Menescal (g), Henri Ackselrud (fl), Eumir Deodato (p), Ugo Marotta (vib), Sérgio Barrozo (b) and João Palma (d), with arrangements by Eumir Deodato, Roberto Menescal and Ugo Marotta.

The 12 tracks are Samba De Verão, Aruanda, Só Tinha De Ser Com Você, Verão, Não Bate Coração, Você, Adriana, Bolinha De Papel, A Morte De Um Deus De Sal, Inverno, Peter And Paulus and Negro.

Here's the complete A Nova Bossa without ad interruptions...

Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of JazzWax by Marc Myers.
Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved.

Track Listing

A1 Samba de verão; A2 Aruanda; A3 Só tinha de ser com você; A4 Verão; A5 Não bate coração; A6 Você; B1 Adriana; B2 Bolinha de papel; B3 A morte de um Deus de sal; B4 Inverno; B5 Peter and Paulus; B6 Negro.


Album information

Title: A Nova Bossa | Year Released: 1964 | Record Label: Elenco





Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.