New music from Lioness, Time Grove and Tom Rainey

Bob Osborne By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

To celebrate International Women's Day a new album from the sextet Lioness on Posi-Tone Records, also music from Time Grove, a new one from Tom Rainey trio with Mary Halvorson and Ingrid Laubrock, a massive slice of excellent sounds created by David Torn. Tim Berne and Ches Smith as Sun of Goldfinger, three tunes from Ernesto Cervini's Turboprop project, and some immense improvisation from DKV Trio (Ken Vandermark. Kent Kessler, Hamid Drake) and the legendary Joe McPhee.


  • Lioness "You Don't Say" from Pride & Joy (Posi-tone) 00:00
  • Time Grove "Second Attention" from More Than One Thing (Wah Wah 45s) 09:04
  • Tom Rainey Trio "Combobulated" from Combobulated (Intakt) 14:38
  • Ernesto Cervini "The Engulfed Cathedral" from Turboprop (Anzic Records) 34:41
  • David Torn, Tim Berne, Ches Smith "Eye Meddle" from Sun of Goldfinger (ECM) 43:28
  • Lioness "Identity" from Pride & Joy (Posi-tone) 1:08:42
  • Time Grove "Sir Blunt" from More Than One Thing (Wah Wah 45s) 1:15:01
  • Ernesto Cervini's Turboprop "No Rain" from REV (Anzic Records) 1:18:44
  • DKV Trio & Joe McPhee "Ebe Hanim" from The Fire Each Time (Not Two Records) 1:25:47
  • Tom Rainey Trio "Point Reyes" from Combobulated (Intakt) 1:39:01
  • Ernesto Cervini's Turboprop "The Ten Thousand Things" from Abundance (Anzic Records) 1:45:05
  • Time Grove "Roy The King" from More Than One Thing (Wah Wah 45s) 1:53:30
  • Lioness "Hurry Up And Wait" from Pride & Joy (Posi-tone) 1:57:42


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles