Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Larry Koonse: New Jazz Standards, Vol. 4

Dan Bilawsky By

Sign in to view read count
This fourth volume in a series of recordings saluting and promoting the music of trumpeter Carl Saunders is every bit as sophisticated and attractive as its predecessors. Guitarist Larry Koonse leads the way through a dozen songs with supreme style and grace, comfortably placing this collection right next to earlier Saunders sets helmed by flutist Sam Most, trombonist Scott Whitfield, and pianist Roger Kellaway.

Koonse, fronting a first-rate quartet filled out by pianist Josh Nelson, bassist Tom Warrington, and drummer Joe LaBarbera, is in prime form throughout. Relaxed and focused all at once, he brings depth and clarity to these compositions while highlighting a synergy between sympathetic souls. Opening on the rhythmically-hinged "Flim Flam," this crew immediately finds its collective footing by making the hits and turning toward swing. Then "A Poor Man's Mister Evans" makes an appearance, highlighting the chemistry between Koonse and Nelson while saluting Bill Evans.

From there, many an angle of Saunders' work is given its due. The chipper side of his personality comes to the fore on "Do Be Do Be Do" and "Admired." Lyrical quietude wins out on "A Ballad For Now" and the calmly waltzing "Another Side Of Her." Explorations of an essential form and color give shape to "Baby Blues" and "Could Be The Blues." And straight-eighth sway catches the breeze and the ear on "Speaking Softly." No matter the matter, Koonse and company rise to the occasion. When you place this man's guitar and bandmates against Saunders' music, it's simply class on class.

Track Listing: Flim Flam; A Poor Man's Mister Evans; Do Be Do Be Do; A Ballad For Now; Admired; Another Side Of Her; Baby Blues; Speaking Softly; Diddy Bop; Hipnicity; Dark Blanket; Could Be The Blues.

Personnel: Larry Koonse: guitar; Josh Nelson: piano; Tom Warrington: bass; Joe LaBarbera: drums.

Title: New Jazz Standards, Vol. 4 | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Summit Records


comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Upcoming Shows

Date Detail Price
Judy Carmichael With Larry Koonse
Kuumbwa Jazz Center
Santa Cruz, CA
Diane Marino & Friends
Vibrato Grill Jazz
Bel Air, CA

Related Articles

Read Day to Day Album Reviews
Day to Day
By Paul Naser
May 24, 2019
Read Theia Album Reviews
By Jim Worsley
May 24, 2019
Read Ain't Nothing But a Cyber Coup & You Album Reviews
Ain't Nothing But a Cyber Coup & You
By Dan McClenaghan
May 24, 2019
Read Nexus Album Reviews
By Jakob Baekgaard
May 23, 2019
Read The Second Coming Album Reviews
The Second Coming
By Daniel Barbiero
May 23, 2019
Read Luminária Album Reviews
By John Sharpe
May 23, 2019