All About Jazz

Home » Articles » CD/LP/Track Review

Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


The New Vision Sax Ensemble: Musical Journey Through Time

Roger Farbey By

Sign in to view read count
Hailing from South Florida, this enterprising quartet was instigated by baritonist Melton R. Mustafa in 1999. There aren't actually that many saxophone-only quartets around, although 29th Street Saxophone Quartet and World Saxophone Quartet are two that spring to mind, and both had an influence on this quartet.

Aside from the lively interpretation of Bobby Watson's "Conservation," from his album Tailor Made, the remaining eight numbers on this CD are standards or songs from the Great American Songbook. Dizzy Gillespie's "A Night In Tunisia" is tackled with aplomb and Monk's "Round Midnight" is elegant and enhanced by Diron Holloway's plaintive alto solo.

The longest track features selections from George Gershwin's Porgy And Bess including the obligatory but nonetheless enchanting "Summertime." Richard Rogers's "My Favourite Things," irresistible as a saxophone piece post-Coltrane, is given a satisfyingly delicate touch as is the upbeat Leonard Bernstein classic "I Feel Pretty." The set concludes with the hymn "Amazing Grace" and sounds just as if its composer John Newton could have written it with this quartet in mind.

Any group which manages to expertly and engagingly execute numbers such as this selection, without the assistance of a rhythm section, must be admired. The timings are surgically precise and the arrangements are tasteful and sensitive. These four saxophonists present well-known and well-loved numbers in a new and vibrant context and this album therefore warrants justifiable praise.

Track Listing: Conservation; A Night In Tunisia; Won’t You Come Home, B. Bailey; Round Midnight; Selections From Porgy And Bess; My Favourite Things; I Feel Pretty; Scot Joplin Portrait; Amazing Grace.

Personnel: Diron Holloway: soprano, alto saxophones, clarinet; James Lockhart: alto saxophone; Jason Hainsworth: tenor saxophone; Melton R. Mustafa: baritone saxophone.

Title: Musical Journey Through Time | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: Self Produced


Related Video

comments powered by Disqus

Related Articles

Read This City CD/LP/Track Review
This City
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: March 24, 2018
Read More Songs About Error And Shame CD/LP/Track Review
More Songs About Error And Shame
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: March 24, 2018
Read West Coast Trio CD/LP/Track Review
West Coast Trio
by Victor L. Schermer
Published: March 24, 2018
Read Sun Embassy CD/LP/Track Review
Sun Embassy
by Mark Corroto
Published: March 24, 2018
Read The Pocket Philharmonic Orchestra, Peter Stangel – Beethoven Revisited Symphonies 1-9 CD/LP/Track Review
The Pocket Philharmonic Orchestra, Peter Stangel –...
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: March 24, 2018
Read Lala Belu CD/LP/Track Review
Lala Belu
by Chris May
Published: March 23, 2018
Read "A Rift in Decorum: Live at the Village Vanguard" CD/LP/Track Review A Rift in Decorum: Live at the Village Vanguard
by Mark E. Gallo
Published: July 27, 2017
Read "Dirt In The Ground" CD/LP/Track Review Dirt In The Ground
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: July 13, 2017
Read "Mandala" CD/LP/Track Review Mandala
by Samuel Stroup
Published: December 20, 2017
Read "New Helsinki" CD/LP/Track Review New Helsinki
by Roger Farbey
Published: April 8, 2017
Read "Open Borders" CD/LP/Track Review Open Borders
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: November 1, 2017
Read "Love & Peace" CD/LP/Track Review Love & Peace
by Karl Ackermann
Published: February 20, 2018