Leo Richardson Quartet: Move

Roger Farbey By

Sign in to view read count
Leo Richardson Quartet: Move
The follow-up to Leo Richardson's debut album The Chase (Ubuntu, 2018) reveals that the tenor man is no one-trick pony. These fifty minutes of hard bop further demonstrate that, in addition to being a composer of well-constructed, memorable tunes, Richardson is also rapidly emerging as one of the UK's top saxophonists.

At odds with its subtly ironic title, "The Demise" is actually a sprightly, upbeat number which instantly grabs the listener's attention; Richardson's ebullient tenor naturally takes centre stage but is energetically pursued by Rick Simpson's vibrant piano solo. The opening bars of "Effin' & Jeffin'"—deceptively similar to Miles Davis' "All Blues"—quickly dissolve into a catchy downward spiralling riff with Richardson's blowing moving up yet another notch. At eight-and-a-half minutes and the longest track on the album, there's plenty of opportunity to hear from the other three members of this virtuosic quartet, particularly drummer Ed Richardson (no relation), a paragon of rhythmic dynamism.

After its brief opening foray, "Martini Shuffle" evinces a teasingly near quote from the initial statement of Charlie Parker's "Be Bop," but the lively pace is maintained throughout this exhilarating number. The title track is primarily modal, replete with Richardson's stunning, labyrinthine tenor saxophone solo—in which he evinces some electrifying trills—seeming to channel John Coltrane. "E.F.G." is an affecting ballad around which Richardson wends his way with the assured confidence of a master.

"Mr Tim" returns the set smartly back into hard bop territory where the quartet, as at several other high points in the album, invokes tantalising comparisons to that doyen of British jazz tenor saxophone, Tubby Hayes. The set concludes with the punningly-titled "Second Wind," so-called since Richardson is joined here by fellow tenorist Alex Garnett on a rumbustious outing, bursting with haunting hooks and robust saxophone exchanges. With its strong tunes and consummate performances, the thoroughly excellent Move consolidates Richardson's position as a genuine rising star in the jazz firmament.

Track Listing

The Demise; Effin’ & Jeffin’; Martini Shuffle; Move; E.F.G.; Mr. Tim; Peace; Second Wind.


Leo Richardson: tenor saxophone; Rick Simpson: piano; Tim Thornton: bass; Ed Richardson: drums; Alex Garnett: tenor saxophone (8).

Album information

Title: Move | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Ubuntu Music

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


Reuter / Motzer / Grohowski
Tales From The Jacquard
Julian Siegel Jazz Orchestra
Pamai Chirdkiatisak
Music Room 1985
Wayne Krantz
Berta Moreno Afro-Jazz Soul Project
Roni Ben-Hur


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.