Mosaic Blow-Out, Anita @ 100 & More

Marc Cohn By

Sign in to view read count
Click the play button to listen to this episode.
So, my log book reminded me it was time to play some Fats Waller, and the Savory box just arrived from Mosaic, which contains fabulous Waller airchecks. Done! Well, one thing lead to another, and as you see below, more Mosaics screamed for attention. Anita O'Day is 100 in the Fall—time for a warmup with Sings the Winners, which Will Friedwald considers one of the top 50 jazz vocal records of all-time; DrJ selected three tunes associated with Stan Getz for a compare and contrast. There's more Sonny Rollins as a sideman with Art Farmer and a handful of other, mostly 21st century tracks. Enjoy the show.


  • Weather Report "Two Lines" from Live and Unreleased (Columbia) 00:00
  • Danilo Pérez "Cobilla" from Providencia (Mack Avenue) 08:38
  • Dayramir Gonzalez "West Coast Exchange" from The Grand Concourse (Machat) 14:25
  • Bill Holman "Zamboni" from Hommage (Jazzed Media) 20:33
  • Joe Lovano "Little Willie Leaps" from Quartets (Blue Note) 28:46
  • Anita O'Day "Four Brothers" from Anita O'Day Sings the Winners (Verve) 38:30
  • Woody Herman "Four Brothers" from Complete Columbia Recordings of Woody Herman and His Orchestra & Woodchoppers (1945-1947) (Mosaic) 41:44
  • Anita O'Day "Early Autumn" from Anita O'Day Sings the Winners (Verve) 44:59
  • Woody Herman "Early Autumn" from Early Autumn (Capitol) 48:00
  • Anita O'Day "Hershey Bar" from Anita O'Day Sings the Winners (Verve) 51:28
  • Stan Getz "Hershey Bar" from Complete Recordings of the Stan Getz Quintet with Jimmy Raney (Mosaic) 54:08
  • Fats Waller "Yacht Club Swing/Hold My Hand" from The Savory Collection 1935-1940 (Mosaic) 58:32
  • Fats Waller "I Haven't Changed a Thing" from The Savory Collection 1935-1940 (Mosaic) 1:02:21
  • Fats Waller "Summer Souvenirs/Who Blew the Flame Out?" from The Savory Collection 1935-1940 (Mosaic) 1:06:03
  • Jack Teagarden "The World Is Waiting for the Sunrise " from Complete HRS Sessions (Mosaic) 1:11:58
  • Jack Teagarden "Big Eight Blues" from Complete HRS Sessions (Mosaic) 1:16:35
  • Louis Armstrong "I'm in the Mood For Love" from Complete Decca Sessions (1935-46) (Mosaic) 1:21:41
  • Louis Armstrong "Got a Brand New Suit" from Complete Decca Sessions (1935-46) (Mosaic) 1:25:03
  • Art Farmer "Soft Shoe" from Farmer's Market (Prestige) 1:28:17
  • Art Farmer "Confab in Tempo" from Farmer's Market (Prestige) 1:33:37
  • Art Farmer "I'll Take Romance" from Farmer's Market (Prestige) 1:37:26
  • Dave Holland "The Monterey Suite III—A Time Remembered" from Overtime (Dare2) 1:42:25

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Radio & Podcasts

Tune in daily to hear the internet's top jazz programs including Mondo Jazz, Jazz Bastard, World of Jazz, The Third Story, One Man's Jazz, Jazz at 100, Neon Jazz, A Broad Spectrum, Liner Notes and more.

View by program...

Program Schedule | JazzWeek Chart


Read Chenin Blanc from the Loire
Read Brad Mehldau Trio Live At The Konzerthaus
Read Meet Vocalist Lucy Wijnands

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.