Aimee Allen: Matter of Time

Geannine Reid By

Sign in to view read count
Aimée Allen has a wonderful ear for beauty; fluent in two romantic languages, French and Portuguese, Allen's warm timbered voice also is fluent in conveying passionate phrases that seem to be wholly heart felt. Matter of Time (Azuline Music) is her latest musical offering that contains highly original music and lyrics penned by Allen dealing with subjects of love and the many changes that life brings to each of us. Allen also has a collection of renewed arrangements on familiar tunes.

Allen has put as much thought into building a cohesive group as she has composing and arranging the music. The core ensemble is comprised of Francois Moutin on bass, Toru Dodo on piano, and Jacob Melchior on drums; on nine of the thirteen tracks. Special guest Romero Lubambo plays guitar on four tracks with bassist Scott Ritchie on Allen's original "Matter of Time." "Soul Cargo" finds Allen's smoky voice paired with Moutin's moving bass line for the first statement of the melody. Allen's display of vocal control is evident and her lower register notes are focused and add much to this melody, long after the songs duration has passed. Allen's compositional skills on this track show her sustained motivation and a maturity as a writer that only occurs after many years of perfecting ones craft. Her originals sit very comfortably juxtaposed with well-known tunes on the album, creating an overall symbiosis, and that is saying something considering the album contains arrangements of well-known gems like Rodgers and Hart's, "My Romance."

Allen has inventive and absolutely engaging arrangements of "Corcovado" and "The Island." Allen's voice shines against the romantic timbres of Lubambo's guitar and it seems to bring out an extraordinary lyrical beauty and phrasing in Allen voice and style. "The Island" is a perfect example of the chemistry between the two artists; the duet version real allows the listener to get lost in the splendor of Allen's voice and passion for singing, which is exhibited most acutely in the duet setting with Lumbabo.

Bassist, Moutin adds a great deal of creativity and virtuosity to the project as well as Dodo's creative piano playing. Both support Allen flawlessly and respect the singer's space, while filling all the appropriate spaces. Melchior's drums give the music forward motion through-out and never gets in the way or distracts from the beauty of each selection.

Allen's follow up release to Winters and Mays, is a testament to the continued journey of composer, vocalist and arranger Aimée Allen. Her latest offering Matter of Time seems aptly titled, as only in a matter of time has this young artist grown from a blossom to a bloom.

Track Listing: Matter of Time; Soul Cargo; My Romance; The Island; Close Your Eyes; New Day; Sometimes I Just Know; Out of Nowhere; Qu’est-ce qu’on est bien ici; In the Name of Love; Corcovado; The Space Between; Matter of Time.

Personnel: Aimée Allen: vocals; Romero Lubambo: guitar (1, 4, 9, 11); François Moutin: bass (2, 3 – 8, 10, 12, 13); Toru Dodo: piano and Fender Rhodes (2, 3 – 8, 10, 12, 13); Jacob Melchior: drums (2, 3 – 8, 10, 12, 13); Scott Ritchie: bass (1).

Title: Matter of Time | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: Azuline Music

About Aimee Allen
Articles | Calendar | Discography | Photos | More...



Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.


Read 4
By Karl Ackermann
Read And I Love Her
And I Love Her
By John Kelman
Read A New Kind Of Water
A New Kind Of Water
By Jerome Wilson
Read No Place to Fall
No Place to Fall
By Mark Corroto
Read Cooper's Park
Cooper's Park
By Mike Jurkovic
Read Katarsis4
By Vitalijus Gailius
Read A Throw Of Dice
A Throw Of Dice
By Dan McClenaghan