Mark Dresser Seven, Georg Ruby Trio & Matthias Spillmann

Maurice Hogue By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

A desire to play together more often led Chicago horn men Jason Stein and Greg Ward to ask bassist Eric Revis and drummer Jim Black to join them in making some music. Great idea, and great results. Nature Work, their new album on Sunnyside, is a winner. So is Ain't Nothing But A Cyber Coup & You from the great bassist Mark Dresser. He surrounded himself with people like Marty Ehrlich, Nicole Mitchell and Joshua White for a session that presents avant-garde jazz in a different way than usual. You'll also hear Jazzhausmusik label boss, Georg Ruby, stepping out on his own as he occasionally does to show what a great pianist he is. His trio tears it up on Village Zone . Appearing for the first time on the show, and definitely not his last, is Aussie alto saxophonist Sam Gill -a very interesting player, and the closer this time comes from German trumpeter Matthias Spillmann and his trio taking a Billy Strayhorn classic to a different place.


  • Parniczky Quartet "Bulgarian Rhythm" from Bartok Electrified (BMC) 00:00
  • Host speaks 05:44
  • Mark Dresser Seven "Black Arthur's Bounce (In Memory Of Arthur Blythe)" from Ain't Nothing But A Cyber Coup & You (Clean Feed) 08:26
  • Mário Costa "Erosion" from Oxy Patina (Clean Feed) 20:44
  • Le Rex "Der Knochige Dürre" from Escape Of The Fire Ants (Cuneiform) 28:28
  • Host speaks 34:27
  • Jason Stein, Greg Ward, Eric Revis & Jim Black "Cryptic Ripple" from Nature Work (Sunnyside) 35:56
  • Jason Stein, Greg Ward, Eric Revis & Jim Black "Rise" from Nature Work (Sunnyside) 42:47
  • Host speaks 50:38
  • Sam Gill's Coursed Waters "Fortean Nights" from Many Altered Returns (Earshift Music) 51:53
  • Magnus Nystrom & Bo Wicklund "Mea Culpa" from Turbulens (Footprint) 1:00:56
  • Host speaks 1:12:45
  • Angelika Niescier "The Surge" from New York Trio (Intakt) 1:13:57
  • Chord Four "That Vague Lonesome" from California Avant-Garde (Self-released) 1:22:20
  • Dan Clucas "Eucalyptus" from Boojum Quartet (Self-released) 1:29:10
  • Host speaks 1:36:15
  • Georg Ruby "Lonely Woman" from Village Zone (Jazzhausmusik) 1:38:03
  • Georg Ruby "Rubum Allorans" from Village Zone (Jazzhausmusik) 1:44:25
  • Peter Kahlenborn Trio "Sandeep's Line" from Vesica Pisces (AKDM) 1:51:03
  • Les Chapeaux Noirs "Green Lady" from Alma (Jazzin' Translation) 1:56:02
  • Host speaks 2:00:21
  • Flavio Zanuttini's Opacipapa Trio "Squeek" from Born Baby Born (Clean Feed) 2:00:52
  • New York Free Quartet "Birthday 41" from Dream Time (4th Stream) 2:03:55
  • Host speaks 2:12:13
  • Mick Rossi & Peter Hess "Thrall" from Cut The Red Wire (Diskonife) 2:13:17
  • Kenneth Jimenez Trio "Formicario" from Sublunary Minds (Self-released) 2:20:22
  • Aki Takase Japanic "Traffic Jam" from Thema Prima (BMC) 2:27:34
  • Host speaks 2:33:31
  • Moritz Von Kleist "Fukushima" from Tonwerkstatt (Jazzhausmusik) 2:34:51
  • Johnny Dyani "Grandmother's Teaching" from Afrika (Steeplechase) 2:38:55
  • Host speaks 2:48:31
  • Matthias Spillmann Trio "A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing" from Live At The Bird's Eye Jazz Club (Clean Feed) 2:50:09

Post a comment


Shop Amazon


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.