March Birthdays Including Nat Cole & Lennie Tristano Centennials

Marc Cohn By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

We've got a nice slug of celebrants to honor in addition to our 'centennialins.' Our best wishes go out to Bill Frisell (playing here with Andrew Cyrille and Wadada Leo Smith), Joe Locke, Charles Lloyd, and Roy Haynes (backing Sarah Vaughan). A very special shout out to Jessica Williams! Enjoy the show!


  • Joe Locke "Litha" from Beauty Burning (Sirocco) 00:00
  • Nat "King" Cole "Sometimes I'm Happy" from After Midnight (Capitol) 07:32
  • Nat "King" Cole "The Lonely One" from After Midnight (Capitol) 11:50
  • Nat "King" Cole "When I Grow Too Old To Dream" from After Midnight (Capitol) 15:44
  • Ben Webster "Budd Johnson" from Ben Webster And Associates (Verve) 19:50
  • Wes Montgomery "West Coast Blues" from The Incredible Jazz Guitar Of Wes Montgomery (Riverside) 28:47
  • Wes Montgomery "Whisper Not" from The Wes Montgomery Trio (Riverside) 36:22
  • Sarah Vaughan "I'll Never Smile Again" from In The Land Of Hi-Fi (Emarcy) 41:25
  • Charles Lloyd "Canto" from Canto (ECM) 44:35
  • James Williams "Roadlife" from Magical Trio 2 (Emarcy) 58:03
  • Shirley Scott "Soul Shoutin'" from Soul Shoutin' (Prestige) 1:04:53
  • Pee Wee Russell "Exactly Like You" from Portrait Of Pee Wee (DCC Jazz) 1:10:53
  • New Orleans Rhythm Kings "Tiger Rag" from New Orleans Rhythm Kings And Jelly Roll Morton (Milestone) 1:14:15
  • Bix Beiderbecke "Royal Garden Blues" from Bix Beiderbecke And The Chicago Cornets (Milestone) 1:16:47
  • Jessica Williams "Why Do I Love You" from Jessica Williams At Maybeck (Concord) 1:19:37
  • Ornette Coleman "Lonely Woman" from The Shape Of Jazz To Come (Atlantic) 1:26:41
  • Andrew Cyrille "Worried Woman" from Lebroba (ECM) 1:31:37
  • Lennie Tristano "Interlude" from Lennie Tristano Trio-The Complete Keynote Collection (Mercury) 1:39:00
  • Lennie Tristano "Donna Lee" from Complete Atlantic Recordings Of Lennie Tristano, Lee Konitz & Warne Marsh (Mosaic) 1:42:59
  • Lennie Tristano "Becoming" from Complete Atlantic Recordings Of Lennie Tristano, Lee Konitz & Warne Marsh (Mosaic) 1:49:25


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles