All About Jazz

Home » Articles » CD/LP/Track Review


Joel Moore: Magnetic

Jack Bowers By

Sign in to view read count
Saxophonist Joel Moore says Magnetic is an EP, even though it runs for as long (thirty-seven minutes) as some full-fledged re-releases on CD from the LP era. Moore's quintet performs five songs in all, two by the leader, one each by guitarist Nick Mizock and bassist Michael Barton, plus Wayne Shorter's diaphanous "Ana Maria," which opens the studio session.

Moore's "Not So Far Away" is a gospel-inspired anthem, "Sob a Luz Amarela" a sunny Latin-flavored theme on which the Chicago-born Moore plays soprano sax, as he does on "Ana Maria." Mizock's "Divisceral" is the session's flag-waver, burning rubber behind emphatic solos by pianist Paul Scherer, Moore (on tenor) and the composer. Barton's placid "Tapestry" resides at the other end of the celerity spectrum, drifting slowly through the changes while Moore and Scherer underscore its low-key nature.

Based on what is offered here, what can be said with assurance is that Moore and his bandmates are by no means novices. Moore, in fact, has degrees from the Berklee School of Music and Boston Conservatory and teaches saxophone and clarinet at the college level. His teammates, it must be assumed, are similarly well-schooled, as they present no reason to believe otherwise. In other words, this is an astute and cohesive ensemble, much like many others that are in the trenches or manning the ramparts from coast to coast.

Having said that, there is no particular trait that could be submitted as evidence to argue that Moore's group differs from those many others. This is simply good music, well-written and quite listenable, while at the same time virtually akin to jazz that is being played by enterprising groups in many other quarters. In sum, nothing exceptional but nothing less than proficient either.

Track Listing: Ana Maria; Not So Far Away; Sob a Luz Amarela; Tapestry; Divisceral.

Personnel: Joel Moore: tenor, soprano saxophone; Nick Mizock: guitar; Paul Scherer: piano, synthesizer; Michael Barton: electric bass; Paul Townsend: drums.

Title: Magnetic | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: Self Produced


comments powered by Disqus

Related Articles

Read Live In Healdsburg CD/LP/Track Review
Live In Healdsburg
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: March 19, 2018
Read Carpe Diem CD/LP/Track Review
Carpe Diem
by Don Phipps
Published: March 19, 2018
Read Exotica CD/LP/Track Review
by Chris May
Published: March 19, 2018
Read Oriental Orbit CD/LP/Track Review
Oriental Orbit
by Glenn Astarita
Published: March 19, 2018
Read Brightbird CD/LP/Track Review
by Henning Bolte
Published: March 19, 2018
Read Peaks of Light CD/LP/Track Review
Peaks of Light
by Mark Sullivan
Published: March 18, 2018
Read "Opening Statement" CD/LP/Track Review Opening Statement
by Jack Bowers
Published: May 3, 2017
Read "Luisa" CD/LP/Track Review Luisa
by Matt Marshall
Published: April 14, 2017
Read "Unification" CD/LP/Track Review Unification
by Troy Dostert
Published: June 26, 2017
Read "Celebrating William Parker at 65" CD/LP/Track Review Celebrating William Parker at 65
by Victor L. Schermer
Published: December 14, 2017
Read "Mandorla Awakening II: Emerging Worlds" CD/LP/Track Review Mandorla Awakening II: Emerging Worlds
by Hrayr Attarian
Published: August 6, 2017
Read "Omara" CD/LP/Track Review Omara
by Roger Farbey
Published: February 3, 2018