Learn How

We need your help in 2018

Support All About Jazz All About Jazz is looking for 1,000 backers to help fund our 2018 projects that directly support jazz. You can make this happen by purchasing ad space or by making a donation to our fund drive. In addition to completing every project (listed here), we'll also hide all Google ads and present exclusive content for a full year!


Atomic: Lucidity

Troy Collins By

Sign in to view read count
Living up to their name in performance and on record, the all-star Norwegian quintet Atomic challenges preconceived notions regarding the stereotypically introspective nature of Nordic jazz. Inspired by the unbridled spirit of 1960s American "Fire Music" and the post-war school of European free improvisation, Atomic eclipses the meditative lyricism of influential local legends like Jan Garbarek and Terje Rypdal, exemplifying the broad stylistic diversity of contemporary Scandinavian jazz.

Formed in 2000, the original lineup brought together trumpeter Magnus Broo and saxophonist Fredrik Ljungkvist (the frontline of Fire House) with pianist Håvard Wiik, bassist Ingebrigt Håker Flaten and drummer Paal Nilssen-Love (the rhythm section from Element). After fifteen years and a dozen releases together, the founding members have undergone their first personnel change, with Hans Hulbækmo taking the place of Nilssen-Love.

Lucidity consists of seven new tunes written by either Ljungkvist or Wiik, the ensemble's primary composers, who favor episodic non-linear narratives over conventional song structures. The opener, "Laterna Interfuit" starts quietly, although the band quickly picks up steam; within a minute and a half the piece blossoms into a riot of dizzying refrains and halting staccato phrases interleaved with disarmingly plangent interludes. The dynamic title track follows a similarly discursive path; buoyed by Hulbækmo's youthful enthusiasm, its hard bop-inflected theme is boldly extemporized by Broo's bristling intervals and Ljungkvist's cascading torrents.

Demonstrating a convincing flair for atmospheric subtlety and melodic sophistication, "Start/Stop" inverts the unit's usual approach, punctuating passages of melancholy impressionism with histrionic outbursts, while the lyrical closer, "December," presents Wiik's neoclassical pianism and Haker Flaten's sinewy arco flirting with atonality, but never at the expense of the number's folksy demeanor.

The band members' seasoned rapport gracefully balances cathartic expressionism with calm introspection throughout the session. Whether careening through the quicksilver swing of "Major" or exploring the haunting textural nuances of "A New Junction," Atomic proves there is far more variety in creative improvised music from the Northern countries than mainstream outlets often suggest.

Track Listing: Laterna Interfruit; A New Junction; Lucidity; Start/Stop; A MacGuffin’s Tale; Major; December.

Personnel: Fredrik Ljungkvist: reeds; Magnus Broo: trumpet; Håvard Wiik: piano; Ingebrigt Håker Flaten: bass; Hans Hulbœkmo: drums.

Title: Lucidity | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: Jazzland Recordings


comments powered by Disqus

More Articles

Read Makes the Heart to Sing: Jazz Hymns CD/LP/Track Review Makes the Heart to Sing: Jazz Hymns
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: December 16, 2017
Read Song of No Regrets CD/LP/Track Review Song of No Regrets
by Jack Bowers
Published: December 16, 2017
Read Sounding Tears CD/LP/Track Review Sounding Tears
by John Sharpe
Published: December 16, 2017
Read Lighthouse CD/LP/Track Review Lighthouse
by Glenn Astarita
Published: December 16, 2017
Read Kill The Boy CD/LP/Track Review Kill The Boy
by Chris Mosey
Published: December 16, 2017
Read Rain or Shine CD/LP/Track Review Rain or Shine
by Jack Bowers
Published: December 15, 2017
Read "Masters In Bordeaux" CD/LP/Track Review Masters In Bordeaux
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: August 19, 2017
Read "Codex" CD/LP/Track Review Codex
by Doug Collette
Published: December 3, 2017
Read "Combsy" CD/LP/Track Review Combsy
by Doug Collette
Published: October 28, 2017
Read "The Tenth Muse" CD/LP/Track Review The Tenth Muse
by Matthew Aquiline
Published: April 7, 2017
Read "Vit" CD/LP/Track Review Vit
by Mark Sullivan
Published: February 7, 2017
Read "The Art Pepper Quartet" CD/LP/Track Review The Art Pepper Quartet
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: May 7, 2017

Support All About Jazz's Future

We need your help and we have a deal. Contribute $20 and we'll hide the six Google ads that appear on every page for a full year!