Louie Bellson/Clark Terry; Dave McMurdo Jazz Orchestra; The Whit Williams Big Band

Jack Bowers By

Sign in to view read count

There must be something about the warm weather that brings out the best in musical groups, as Florida boasts impressive collegiate Jazz ensembles from Jacksonville to Miami—not to mention Tampa, where USF continues to reinforce the aura of excellence.

Tracks and Personnel

Louie & Clark Expedition 2

Tracks: Chicago Suite (State Street Swing/City Of Seasons/The Blues Singer/Lake Shore Drive); Davenport Blues; Two Guys And A Gal; Piacere; Give Me The Good Time; Ballade; Terry's Mood; Back to the Basics (Old); Now (The Young); Well All Right Then.

Personnel: Louie Bellson: drums, composer; Clark Terry: trumpet, flugelhorn; Frank Greene, Tony Lujan, Stjepko Gut, Greg Glassman: trumpet, flugelhorn; Albert Alva: conductor, alto sax, flute; Stantawn Kendrick: alto, soprano sax, flute; Steve Guerra, Whitney Slaten: tenor sax; Adam Schroeder: baritone sax; Stafford Hunter, Andrae Murchison, Cameron McManus: trombone; Jack Jeffers: bass trombone; Helen Sung: piano; Marcus McLaurine: bass; Sylvia Cuenca (5), Kenny Washington (5): drums.

Nimmons 'n' More

Tracks: CD1: Mod's Mode; Patita; Wabash; Song For Antony; Impressions; Over The Rainbow; Talk. CD2: Jazz Suite; Talk; Conversations (Aural Communication).

Personnel: Dave McMurdo: leader, trombone; Jason Logue, Kevin Turcotte, Chase Sanborn, Mike Malone, Neil Christoffersen: trumpet, flugelhorn; John Johnson: alto sax, flute; Don Englert: alto sax, piccolo, flute, clarinet; Alex Dean: tenor sax, flute, bass clarinet; Quinsin Nachoff: tenor sax, clarinet; Mike Murley: baritone sax, clarinet; Rob Somerville, Terry Promane, Ted Bohn: trombone; Bob Hamper: bass trombone; Brian Dickinson: piano; Reg Schwager: guitar; Paul Novotny: bass; Kevin Dempsey: drums. Special guest: Karen Rotenberg: English horn.

Featuring Slide Hampton And Jimmy Heath

Tracks: This Is What It Is; Una Mas; I Remember Tangle; Losing Game; Without You, No Me; The Radiator Man Is Well; A Day In Copenhagen; Diana; Get Home Before Dark; Little Rootie Tootie.

Personnel: Whit Williams: leader, composer, arranger, reeds; Don Junker, Joe Palonzo, Michael Thomas, Eli Asher: trumpet; Jimmy Battallata, Jimmy Kearns, Russel Kirk: alto sax; Howard Burns: tenor sax; Gary Thomas: tenor sax, flute; Steve Swann: baritone sax; Jay Gibble, Richard Ore, Bill Holmes: trombone; Bernie Robier: bass trombone; Charlie Etsel: piano; Earnest Barnes: bass; Harold Summey: drums. Special guests: Slide Hampton: trombone; Jimmy Heath: tenor sax; Charlie Young: alto sax.

The Mayn Thing

Tracks: Break The Ice; Chameleon; Coconut Champagne; A Country Boy; Georgia On My Mind; Groove Blues; How Sweet It Is; My Romance; Theme From Rocky (Gonna Fly Now); Superbone Meets The Badman; Tenderly; What Kind Of Fool Am I.

Personnel: Rich Wetzel: leader, trumpet; Dave Gonzales, Greg London, Tracey D. Hooker: trumpet; Dan Wager, John Beach, Keith Klawitter: reeds; Tim Schartz, Jenny Kellogg: trombone; Jim Cochran: piano, keyboards; Lonnie Mardis: guitar; Rick White: bass; Tim Mallard: drums; Rocky Ramento: congas; Steve Stefanowicz, Rebecca Gonzales: vocals.

Suncoast 2007

Tracks: Nor'Easter Suite, Part 1; I Could Write A Book; Tom Thumb; Minuano; UFO; Hidden Beneath; Nola's Waltz; Stella By Starlight; Isle Of San Lorenzo; Diverse.

Personnel: USF Jazz Ensemble 1, Jazztet, Jazz Combo. Tom Brantley, Chuck Owen, Jack Wilkins: directors. No individual personnel listed.


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.