524

Phish: Live Phish Downloads: Madison Square Garden 12/30/1997

Doug Collette By

Sign in to view read count
Phish: Live Phish Downloads: Madison Square Garden 12/30/1997 Releasing the three-CD Live Phish Downloads: Madison Square Garden 12/30/1997 in the wake of the mammoth At the Roxy (Jemp, 2008) makes a certain amount of sense. It is neither a groundbreaking performance nor a significant event within the band's oeuvre, such as its 1996 The Clifford Ball festival. The video counterpart of Madison Square Garden 1997, shot from a single camera's sound-board vantage point in the historic venue, available simultaneously with the CDs and download, substantiate the lighthearted atmosphere of this late-nineties holiday appearance.

Accordingly, the set list is plentifully peppered with covers, beginning with one of Phish's most successful forays into the funk field, Allen Toussaint's "Sneakin' Sally Through The Alley." Within its 10-plus minutes, the quartet uses the deep spacious groove as a launching pad to a place reminiscent of the exalted spring, 1997 "Island Tour."

Little wonder five more minutes of the tune appear during the encore, itself capped by nothing other than "Frankenstein." Whether Phish liked the riff Edgar Winter's hit or just played it purely tongue-in-cheek for close to twelve minutes matters less than its being preceded by Clifton Chenier's more roots-like My Soul" forty-five minutes prior. Toussaint would, no doubt, approve of that selection as well.

Jimi Hendrix would, no doubt, also be honored to hear the Vermont band tear through his "Isabella," which may be the most vicious hard rocker Phish has ever played. The solemn segue from Phish's "Chalk Dust Torture" to The Beatles' "A Day in the Life" is a far more worthwhile endeavor than wasting three minutes on The Proclaimers' "I'm Gonna Be (500 Miles)," with this solitary appearance of the tune in the Phish discography further "distinguished" by lyricist Tom Marshall's participation.

But no such comedic irony comes into play during the extended improvisation during "Taste." The dynamics of extended performances such as these are hardly less striking than transitions which contrast the light- hearted, country-inflected "Water in the Sky" with the ominous, drama-introducing "Punch You in the Eye."

25-plus minutes of "AC/DC Bag" give ballast to this recording, as does the bulk of "Harry Hood," but the latter unfortunately suffers for the absence of its usual exhilarating finish. As dubious as the band's choice of covers are here—or even its own compositional skill—as well as the spoken word intervals like that which extends "Harpua," it's Phish's playing that commands attention and upon which its reputation rightfully rests.

Track Listing: CD1: Sneakin' Sally Thru The Alley; Taste; Water In The Sky; Punch You In The Eye; Stash; Chalk Dust Torture; A Day In The Life. CD2: AC/DC Bag; McGrupp And The Watchful Hosemasters; Harpua; I'm Gonna Be (500 Miles); Harpua; Izabella. CD3: Harry Hood; My Soul; Sleeping Monkey; Guyute; Carini; Black-Eyed Katy; Sneakin' Sally Thru The Alley; Frankenstein.

Personnel: Trey Anastasio: guitar, vocals; Jon Fishman: drums, vocals; Mike Gordon: bass, vocals; Page McConnell: keyboards, vocals.

Year Released: 2008 | Record Label: Jemp Records | Style: Jam Band


Related Video

comments powered by Disqus

Shop

More Articles

Read This Is Beautiful Because We Are Beautiful People CD/LP/Track Review This Is Beautiful Because We Are Beautiful People
by Matthew Aquiline
Published: May 29, 2017
Read Nigerian Spirit CD/LP/Track Review Nigerian Spirit
by James Nadal
Published: May 29, 2017
Read The Colours Suite CD/LP/Track Review The Colours Suite
by Glenn Astarita
Published: May 29, 2017
Read Les Liasons Dangereuses 1960 CD/LP/Track Review Les Liasons Dangereuses 1960
by Mark Corroto
Published: May 29, 2017
Read Chapter Five CD/LP/Track Review Chapter Five
by Jack Bowers
Published: May 28, 2017
Read The Hive CD/LP/Track Review The Hive
by Edward Blanco
Published: May 28, 2017
Read "The Invariant" CD/LP/Track Review The Invariant
by Mark Sullivan
Published: February 22, 2017
Read "The Getaway" CD/LP/Track Review The Getaway
by Nenad Georgievski
Published: June 25, 2016
Read "Live At The Xerox Rochester International Jazz Festival" CD/LP/Track Review Live At The Xerox Rochester International Jazz Festival
by Roger Farbey
Published: December 23, 2016
Read "Just for Fun" CD/LP/Track Review Just for Fun
by Jack Bowers
Published: July 26, 2016
Read "Every Time You Touch Me (I Get High) / Silver Linings / Take Me / Rollin' With The Flow" CD/LP/Track Review Every Time You Touch Me (I Get High) / Silver Linings /...
by Jakob Baekgaard
Published: September 1, 2016
Read "Summer Skyshift" CD/LP/Track Review Summer Skyshift
by John Sharpe
Published: August 18, 2016

Why wait?

Support All About Jazz and we'll deliver exclusive content, hide ads, hide slide-outs, and provide read access to our future articles.

Buy it!