Girls in Airports: Live

Roger Farbey By

Sign in to view read count
Girls in Airports: Live
The fifth album by the Danish crossover band Girls In Airports was recorded during three live shows in Germany in April 2017. The audience applause (and cheering) is included at the conclusion of some tracks. The album opens with "Kantine" a slow-burner which inexorably builds tension and gravitas, releasing a crescendo of energy midway and ultimately returning to its stately beginnings, all the time dominated by the two horns, frequently playing in unison.

"Kaikoura" the title track of the group's third album released in 2013, is atmospherically folk-like and imbued with a delicate sax-led melody. The twin reeds on "Broken Stones" elicit a mesmeric riff underpinned by a constant rhythmic pulse. Also gleaned from Kaikoura are the ruminative "Albert Kahn" and "King's Birthday." Other revisited tracks are "Fables" and "Aeiki" (another satisfying tension-and-release builder), both taken from the band's fourth 2015 album Fables.

The merged percussive, electronic and horn-rich sounds of "ADAC" (a dual allusion to the rock band AC/DC and ADAC, the German motoring organization) are as near as this record gets to unalloyed heaviness. By contrast, the deceptively raucous opening to "Need A Light," from the group's second album Migration, rapidly evolves into languid tranquillity, almost, at times, coming to a standstill.

Adequately describing the Girls In Airports sound is tricky. The music is a melange of ambient and rock beats fused with jazz lyricism. Perhaps it's a mixture of say, King Crimson's more pastoral interludes, early-ish instrumental Pink Floyd and maybe a soupçon of Eno's soundscapes plus some dark drone-like saxophone à la Donny McCaslin as heard on David Bowie's Blackstar. Any way you cut it, this is an intriguing and memorable set.

Track Listing

Kantine; Kaikoura; Broken Stones; Fables; Episodes; Aeiki; Albert Kahn; ADAC; Need A Light; Migration; King’s Birthday; Vejviser.


Martin Stender: saxophones; Lars Greve: saxophones, clarinets; Mathias Holm: keyboards; Victor Dybbroe: percussion; Mads Forsby: drums.

Album information

Title: Live | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: Edition Records

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


This Song Is New
Lorne Lofsky
Blue Lotus
The New Muse 4Tet
Garden Of Jewels
Ivo Perelman Trio
Virtual Birdland
Arturo O'Farrill


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.