Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Raphael Malfliet: LE10 18-05

Jakob Baekgaard By

Sign in to view read count
Belgian-born electric bassist and composer Raphael Malfliet continues to explore the complex worlds of sound that he introduced on his acclaimed debut, Noumenon (Ruweh Records, 2016). However, his second album LE10 18-05 shifts focus from the tight constellation of the trio to the extended possibilities of a large acoustic ensemble.

On Noumenon, Malfliet already understood how to create elaborate abstract layers of sound with a technique that seemed to make the referential sound of the instruments disappear, but LE10 18-05 brings the instruments back to life, using the recognizable sounds of woodwinds, brass instruments and strings. If Noumenon made something big out of something small, using the trio of guitar, electric bass and percussion to paint a many-layered canvas of sound, LE10 18-05 takes something big and makes it small, focusing on the tiniest detail of the instruments and the transition between sound and silence, stillness and movement.

Malfliet is interested in working with pitch and register and the space between composition and improvisation. He has used the metaphor of gaming to describe some of the principles he uses that allow the individual musician a large amount of freedom within a defined set of rules. The result is a clear artistic vision where each voice from the instrument is felt in a musical tapestry. The music is multidimensional, so to speak, and sound is bent in real time as tones are stretched, and a barely heard buzz transforms into a brief moment of thunder on "Arborescence."

The compositions on LE10 18-05 are sensory landscapes rich in texture, but also inhabited with dialog between musicians reacting to each other. Malfliet, the instrumentalist, steps back to facilitate a conversation between the members of the ensemble that is both structured and unpredictable and, while many of the instruments remain recognizable, they are also pushed to the limit and transformed into different shapes. LE10 18-05 is a work that shows an uncompromising artist on the path to new discoveries.

Track Listing: Arborescence; Supersonic; Orbital Decay I; Orbital Decay II; Orbital Decay III; Scintilation; Blazar; Parcours; Trajectory.

Personnel: Raphael Malfliet: electric bass & compositions; Karin De Fleyt: flutes; Leonhard Huhn: clarinets & alta saxophone; Elisabeth Coudoux: cello; Frantz Loriot: viola; Cécile Broché: violin; Elena Kakaliagou: horn; Henrik Munkeby Nørstebø: trombone; Carlo Costa: drums & percussion; Toma Gouband: percussion.

Title: LE10 18-05 | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Ruweh Records




comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Album Reviews
Read more articles
LE10 18-05

LE10 18-05

Ruweh Records



Ruweh Records


Related Articles

Read LE10 18-05 Album Reviews
LE10 18-05
By Karl Ackermann
May 20, 2019
Read Remembering Miles Album Reviews
Remembering Miles
By Dan McClenaghan
May 20, 2019
Read Merry Peers Album Reviews
Merry Peers
By Bruce Lindsay
May 20, 2019
Read Music! Music! Music! Album Reviews
Music! Music! Music!
By Doug Collette
May 20, 2019
Read Sheer Reckless Abandon Album Reviews
Sheer Reckless Abandon
By John Kelman
May 19, 2019
Read Gratitude: Stage Door Live @ the Z Album Reviews
Gratitude: Stage Door Live @ the Z
By Jack Bowers
May 19, 2019
Read To My Brothers Album Reviews
To My Brothers
By Victor L. Schermer
May 19, 2019