Ilmiliekki Quartet: Land Of Real Men

Friedrich Kunzmann By

Sign in to view read count
Finnish all-star combo Ilmiliekki Quartet creates its very own sonic landscape on the first recording in 13 years. Between minimalist percussive crescendi and nostalgic melodies led by Verneri Pohjola on trumpet, Land Of Real Men demonstrates an organic gathering of musicians at the top of their game.

Six of the eight tunes are originals by the bandmembers. the opener, however, is an explosive take on avant-garde artist Laurie Anderson's "O Superman" and gets the album going on a very intense note. Pianist Tuomo Prättälä and bassist Antti Lotjonen interpret the meter and rhythm freely by multiplying staccato jabs at their instruments before trumpet and drums become more dominant and collectively push volume and melody to the maximum.

Follow-up "Singharat Soi 1" may be the structurally most straightforward and melodically most traditional cut on the album. It displays the quartet in a transparent acoustic setting that sees them increasingly growing together to a unit. Pohjola's characterful overblows combined with harmonically challenging piano solos are an ear-catcher.

The album continues down a path of the unexpected, never doing the same thing twice. "Afterimage" is a quietly haunting anthem filled with ambient scratches on cymbals and percussive piano play. Ironically, the composer himself, bassist Lötjönen, adds very little of his own playing but lets space and changes speak for themselves. After a funky jam in "Twisted Thistle" and a couple of more introspective exercises ("Il Maleki," "Ravelogue"), the title track brings driven rhythm back to the foreground, switching between muffled murmur and a full-on, head first climax. Piano and trumpet each get plenty of time to solo, which they use in a most subtle and empathetic way.

When it comes to covering a pop song in jazz it's not only the manner with which it is interpreted that can impress, but even the choice of song alone demonstrates vision and quality. Leslie feist's "Lonely Lonely" is not only executed with brilliance, but also a boldly fitting way to end the album.

Land Of Real Men is another winner coming from the young Finnish Label, We Jazz, and gives insight to some of the best music the country has to offer. Modern yet evidently studied in tradition, Ilmiliekki Quartet have crafted a wonderful record, and hopefully won't wait another 13 years to release the next one.

Track Listing: o superman; singharat soi 1; afterimage; twisted thistle; il maleki; ravelogue; land of real men; lonely lonely.

Personnel: Verneri Pohjola: trumpet; Tuomo Prättälä: piano; Antti Lötjönen: bass; Olavi Louhivuori: drums.

Title: Land Of Real Men | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: We Jazz Records



comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Upcoming Shows

Date Detail Price
Ilmiliekki Quartet
Aleksanterin Teatteri
Helsinki, Finland

Related Articles

Read Along for the Ride Album Reviews
Along for the Ride
By Jack Bowers
June 20, 2019
Read Ancestral Recall Album Reviews
Ancestral Recall
By Karl Ackermann
June 20, 2019
Read Eternal Youth Album Reviews
Eternal Youth
By Don Phipps
June 20, 2019
Read Curiouser and Curiouser Album Reviews
Curiouser and Curiouser
By Mike Jurkovic
June 20, 2019
Read Getz At The Gate Album Reviews
Getz At The Gate
By Chris May
June 19, 2019
Read Keep Talkin' Album Reviews
Keep Talkin'
By Dan McClenaghan
June 19, 2019
Read Night Owl Album Reviews
Night Owl
By Dan Bilawsky
June 19, 2019