All About Jazz

Home » Articles » CD/LP/Track Review


One O'Clock Lab Band: Lab 2018/The Rhythm Of The Road

Chris Mosey By

Sign in to view read count
The University of North Texas has been encouraging its students to play jazz since the 1940s, when big bands were all the rage. To this end, someone came up with the idea of having a band for every hour of the day.

The One O'Clock Lab Band is what's left of that whacky idea. The band's present director, Alan Baylock claims the 2018 edition to be the best Lab Band ever and says his opinion was shared by people attending concerts on a tour the band made that took in four states and 12 cities and featured 11 guest artists, including Christian McBride, Jimmy Heath and Marcus Miller.

"On more than one occasion I was told by fans and former One O'Clock members that this is the best One O'Clock Lab Band they've ever heard. And one fan had been listening to the ensemble since the mid-60s," says Baylock.

The album kicks off with a Victor Lewis number, "Hey, It's Me You're Talking To," arranged by drummer John Sturno. It rips along at a fair lick, featuring the two youngest members of the band, 20-year-old saxophonist Will Nathman and Gregory Newman, aged 19, on trumpet.

The fast and funky title track, "The Rhythm Of The Road," was composed by tenor saxophonist Brandon Moore, who also did the arrangement for "Train," played on the tour at the Jazz Education Network conference in Dallas, Texas.

Billy Strayhorn's lovely ballad "A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing" was arranged by Kyle Gordon and is sung by Marion Powers, who gains in confidence as the number progresses. Paul Lees backs her with fine, under-stated piano.

Brandon Moore arranged John Coltrane's "After The Rain," which closes the album. This was no mean feat, the number being in 10/8 time. It features Brendon Wilkins on flute, of whom Baylock says: "I've been in front of professional big bands for almost 25 years and I've never heard a flute sound as gorgeous as Brendon's."

Track Listing: Hey, It’s Me You’re Talkin’ To; The Rhythm Of The Road; Train; Blues For Kazu; A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing; Birds Of A Feather; Without A Doubt; Bachianas Brasileiras No.5; After The Rain.

Personnel: Kyle Bellaire, Sam Cousineau, Brandon Moore, Will Nathman, Brendon Wilkins: saxophones; Nick Owsik, Adam Horne, Huang-Hsiang Chang, Kasunori Tanaka, Gregory Newman: trumpets; Brian Woodbury, DJ Rice, Brett Larnel: trombones; Tommy Barttels, Kenny Davis: bass; Daniel Pinilla: guitar; Paul Lees: piano; Raul Reyes: bass; John Sturino: drums; Marion Powers: vocals.

Title: Lab 2018/The Rhythm Of The Road | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Self Produced


Related Video

comments powered by Disqus

Shop Music & Tickets

Click any of the store links below and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Circulate Susanna CD/LP/Track Review
Circulate Susanna
by Karl Ackermann
Published: November 13, 2018
Read Jazzamenco CD/LP/Track Review
by Jack Bowers
Published: November 13, 2018
Read You Have Options CD/LP/Track Review
You Have Options
by Glenn Astarita
Published: November 13, 2018
Read Heroes, Saints and Clowns CD/LP/Track Review
Heroes, Saints and Clowns
by Chris M. Slawecki
Published: November 13, 2018
Read Bowie, Berlin & Beyond CD/LP/Track Review
Bowie, Berlin & Beyond
by Glenn Astarita
Published: November 13, 2018
Read For You CD/LP/Track Review
For You
by Patrick Burnette
Published: November 12, 2018
Read "From Silence to Somewhere" CD/LP/Track Review From Silence to Somewhere
by Glenn Astarita
Published: March 21, 2018
Read "The Nobuki Takamen Trio" CD/LP/Track Review The Nobuki Takamen Trio
by Chris Mosey
Published: October 11, 2018
Read "Flying" CD/LP/Track Review Flying
by Troy Dostert
Published: August 19, 2018
Read "Moksha" CD/LP/Track Review Moksha
by Roger Farbey
Published: March 29, 2018
Read "Ay  Que Boogaloo!" CD/LP/Track Review Ay Que Boogaloo!
by Chris M. Slawecki
Published: November 12, 2018
Read "Memory/Imagination" CD/LP/Track Review Memory/Imagination
by Jim Olin
Published: May 8, 2018