All About Jazz

Home » Articles » CD/LP/Track Review


I Think You Are Awesome: Kiss Your Darlings

Jakob Baekgaard By

Sign in to view read count
Being a musician often involves finding the right balance between emotional and private communication, an eclectic approach and a clear musical identity. Somehow, Danish bassist and composer, Jens Mikkel Madsen, has found this difficult balance and the proof is the album Kiss Your Darlings, from his ensemble I Think You Are Awesome.

In fact, since the beginning, Madsen already had a clear idea of the musical direction of the band. It had to be a band that could move in different musical directions. Jazz, acoustic folk, pop stylings and post-rock are all genres that find their way into the musical expression and, at the same time, there is an identity that unites it all, which is underlined by the distinctive visual art of Simon Eskildsen that has graced all album covers, including Kiss Your Darlings.

The name of the album is also a good description of Madsen's aesthetic. It is not about leaving something out to create a lean style. Instead, the music is about embracing diversity, both in terms of styles and moods. "Bill" is an elaborate ambient faux-western instrumental with spherical distorted guitar and "Warm Milk" is a touching piece of delicate blue-eyed soul pop with Madsen praising the comfort of his loved one in a soothing voice.

"Anxiety" is another deep cut, an epic ballad the uses the effects of dramatic drums and rock guitars to reach a climax while "Spring" is a light contrast with an acoustic bass groove, breezy saxophones and flutes, tinkling piano and the voices of Madsen and Marie Malmø singing "it's spring let's sing and think of good things / the season will bring."

Using a wealth of musical instruments and combining vocal and instrument tracks, Madsen has found a way into a universe that is both playful, serious and tender. The music combines the adventurousness of experimental instrumental music with the virtues of eclectic indie pop and thoughtful lyrics. An awesome mixture.

Track Listing: Bill; Warm Milk; Spring; Rebel Without Applause; Cheers; The Same Way As You Walk; America; Anxiety.

Personnel: Lars Fiil: keys, piano; Alex Jönsson: guitar; Morten Kærup Hjort: guitars and banjo; Frej Lesner: percussion, electronics; Andreas Skamby: drums; Jens Mikkel: electric and acoustic bass, vocals; Mirja Kippel: vocals (#2, #5); Maria Malmø: vocals (#3, #6); Chappe: saxophone (#3); Maria Isabel Edlund: cello (#3); Mathias Jæger: keys, piano (#3); Christian Vuust: saxophone (#6).

Title: Kiss Your Darlings | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Jaeger Community Music


Related Video

comments powered by Disqus

Shop Music & Tickets

Click any of the store links below and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.

CD/LP/Track Review
Read more articles
Kiss Your Darlings

Kiss Your Darlings

Jaeger Community Music

Løft Mig Op Så Jeg Kan Nå

Løft Mig Op Så Jeg...

Sellf Produced



Self Produced

Girls With Radical Haircuts

Girls With Radical...

Gateway Music

Ost Bingo Skruer

Ost Bingo Skruer

Barefoot Records



Self Produced


Related Articles

Read "Lucus" CD/LP/Track Review Lucus
by Mike Jurkovic
Published: January 22, 2018
Read "Plodi" CD/LP/Track Review Plodi
by Glenn Astarita
Published: November 17, 2017
Read "Peter and the Wolf" CD/LP/Track Review Peter and the Wolf
by Nicholas F. Mondello
Published: June 27, 2018
Read "Tipping My Hat To Leonard" CD/LP/Track Review Tipping My Hat To Leonard
by Paul Naser
Published: July 3, 2018
Read "Those Were the Days" CD/LP/Track Review Those Were the Days
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: June 9, 2018
Read "Shamal Wind" CD/LP/Track Review Shamal Wind
by Chris May
Published: June 1, 2018