Jonathan Finlayson, Master Oogway & More

Maurice Hogue By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

These days touring is maybe the most critical aspect of a jazz musician's ability to not only promote one's music but also to survive financially. Toronto drummer Ethan Ardelli is proof of that pudding. He's taken his fine quartet and hit the road across Canada for the month of November—23 events from coast to coast—and will be promoting his debut album The Island of Form. It's a feature of this episode of One Man's Jazz.

You'll also hear tunes from new releases by Jonathan Finlayson, David Binney, the Improvision Quartet from Poland and Norway's Master Oogway (the creator of Kung Fu from Kung Fu Panda). Prepare for chaos!


  • Michael Formanek Elusion Quartet "The New Normal" from Time Like This (Intakt) 00:00
  • Mehdi Nabti "Tinji Vs Ndate Yalla" from Les Régles de l'Art (Self-released) 09:15
  • Host speaks 14:25
  • Ethan Ardelli Quartet "Agua" from The Island Of Form (Self-released) 16:50
  • Ethan Ardelli Quartet "Thanks For Something" from The Island Of Form (Self-released) 24:34
  • Ensemble Fanaa "Water Song" from Ensemble Fanaa (Gold Bolus) 30:26
  • Josephine Davies Satori "Song of the Dancing Saint" from In the Corner of Clouds (Whirlwind) 37:36
  • Host speaks 44:31
  • Bruno Tocanne & Rémi Gaudillat "En Friche (Intro)" from Canto De Multitudes (Izzmusic) 46:11
  • Bruno Tocanne & Remi Gaudillat "En Friche" from Canto De Multitudes (Izzmusic) 48:37
  • Dogwood "Gum Tree Canoe" from Hecate's Hound (Nusica) 55:59
  • Host speaks 58:55
  • Russ Johnson Quartet "Mons Calpe" from Headlands (Woolgathering) 59:25
  • Russ Johnson Quartet "Transition" from Headlands (Woolgathering) 1:07:03
  • Madame De Butternut "Pierre De Clés Crins" from Le Grenier De La Chouette (Manivelle) 1:10:29
  • Host speaks 1:16:21
  • Jonathan Finlayson "A Stone, A Pond, A Thought" from 3 Times Round (Pi) 1:18:08
  • Alberto Pinton Quartet "Lacy" from Live in Japan (Wildcat House) 1:27:03
  • Sklation "Kleinod" from Prohils Underground (Self-released) 1:33:45
  • Host speaks 1:40:37
  • Improvision Quartet "193" from Free-Folk-Jazz (Hevhetia) 1:43:43
  • Michael Formanek Elusion Quartet "Down 8 Up 5" from Time Like This (Intakt) 1:50:48
  • Host speaks 1:59:44
  • Master Oogway "That Gum You Like" from The Concert Koan (Clean Feed) 2:01:16
  • Master Oogway "Mork Materie" from The Concert Koan (Clean Feed) 2:07:34
  • David Binney & Manuel Engel "Greenwich Village" from Zinc City (Self-released) 2:16:47
  • Host speaks 2:22:45
  • First Gig Never Happened "Better Get Hit in Your Soul" from Mingus Without Bass, Monk Without Hat (Alessa) 2:23:58
  • First Gig Never Happened "Pussy Cat Dues" from Mingus without Bass, Monk without Hat (Alessa) 2:29:15
  • Matthew Golombisky "#16" from Cuentos Volume 3 (Ears & Eyes) 2:37:35
  • Jeff Albert "Brain Dance" from Live at the Hungry Brain (Breakast4Dinner) 2:42:05
  • Host speaks 2:48:18
  • Ben Sluijs "Jemima" from Particles (Off-Record/Purpose) 2:51:15

Post a comment



All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.