Learn How

We need your help in 2018

Support All About Jazz All About Jazz is looking for readers to help fund our 2018 projects that directly support jazz. You can make this happen by purchasing ad space or by making a donation to our fund drive. In addition to completing every project (listed here), we'll also hide all Google ads and present exclusive content for a full year!


Jorge Fernandez: J.I.G.E.N

Mark Sullivan By

Sign in to view read count
Mexican drummer/composer Jorge Fernandez leads his quintet through an eclectic collection of modern jazz (the name J.I.G.E.N. means "Jazz, Impro, Groove, Electric, Noise"). "Hacia Las Barrancas II" opens the set with some of the promised instrument noises before going into a long line over a pulse: then a gentle swing section. That's a lot of variety in the first three minutes! The tune also features fine solos from tenor saxophonist Diego Franco, guitarist Juan Jose Lopez and baritone saxophonist Remi Alvarez.

"A través De La Niebla" again takes an adventurous turn with a guitar solo processed by what sounds like a ring modulator: quite a contrast to the acoustic sounds surrounding it. Despite its title "Fragmento II" does not sound especially fragmentary, although it does grow out of a short melodic idea. It includes an overdriven guitar solo (a bit reminiscent of John Scofield) and gives double bassist Arturo Báez Velázquez a chance to shine.

Fernández is a member of the fraternity of drumming bandleaders who make their mark by composing and arranging. He can be heard pushing things along from the drum throne, but he takes no solos. He gives his bandmates plenty of space, and the combination of baritone and tenor saxophones with guitar gives the group a distinctive sound. Fernández's drumming also features prominently as one half of The Piano & Drums Project on Motion (Self Produced, 2016).

Track Listing: 1.- Hacia Las Barrancas II 9:55 2.- A través De La Niebla 9:47 3.- Fragmento II 9:32 4.- Cuando El Tiempo Nos Alcance 10:43 5.- Retrato de Un Instante 10:44

Personnel: Remi Álvarez - Baritone Sax Diego Franco - Tenor Sax Juan José López - Guitar Arturo Báez Velázquez - Double Bass Jorge Fernández - Drums/Compositions

Title: J.I.G.E.N. | Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: Intolerancia


Related Video

comments powered by Disqus

More Articles

Read OR CD/LP/Track Review OR
by Geno Thackara
Published: January 18, 2018
Read The Songbook Project CD/LP/Track Review The Songbook Project
by Don Phipps
Published: January 18, 2018
Read Solo a Genova CD/LP/Track Review Solo a Genova
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: January 18, 2018
Read Reaching Out CD/LP/Track Review Reaching Out
by Mark Corroto
Published: January 18, 2018
Read Satoko Fujii Solo CD/LP/Track Review Satoko Fujii Solo
by Karl Ackermann
Published: January 17, 2018
Read when the shade is stretched CD/LP/Track Review when the shade is stretched
by Mark Sullivan
Published: January 17, 2018
Read "Aquarelle" CD/LP/Track Review Aquarelle
by Geannine Reid
Published: April 7, 2017
Read "Falling Forward" CD/LP/Track Review Falling Forward
by James Nadal
Published: July 27, 2017
Read "Inspired by Nature" CD/LP/Track Review Inspired by Nature
by Ian Patterson
Published: July 14, 2017
Read "Hoping Against Hope" CD/LP/Track Review Hoping Against Hope
by Glenn Astarita
Published: May 19, 2017
Read "Masters Legacy Series, Volume 1" CD/LP/Track Review Masters Legacy Series, Volume 1
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: January 28, 2017
Read "Earthshine" CD/LP/Track Review Earthshine
by Troy Dostert
Published: September 28, 2017