Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Lawful Citizen: Internal Combustion

Dan McClenaghan By

Sign in to view read count
The Montreal-based quartet Lawful Citizen has come up with an unusual subject on which to pin its theme. Its debut disc's title, Internal Combustion, contains the four part "Internal Combustion Suite" that addresses, in part, the power that has driven our cars (and motorcycles, and lawnmowers...) for the better part of the last century. The suite opens with this saxophone and a guitar/bass/drums quartet's dreamy and foreboding groove—tranquil and and eerie at the same time, with a metallic, egalitarian sound that gathers an ominous vibe as it unfolds. It evolves from a Brian Eno-esque type of atmospheric dreamscape into a wailing guitar, screaming saxophone, death metal culmination.

"Part II" of the suite carries on with the slash and burn, heavy seismic-chord mode. It sounds like a jazz group trying to be a hard rock band, very successfully. If we're talking internal combustion engines, we're talking late 1960s/early 1970s muscle cars with big fat V8s under the hood, and maybe some glass pack mufflers affixed to the hot tailpipes—Dodge Chargers and Pontiac GTOs, painted black..

But it's not all roaring fire. "Part III" explores the droning atmosphere of an idling engine, until the accelerator gets pounded to the floor, the pistons pump, rear wheels spin on cold blacktop and the street race is on.

Aside from the "Internal Combustion Suite," the disc opens with somber "The Day After," followed by "February 2," contemplative in the beginning, winding up to a searing and relentless assault that tapers off into a restive groove, that cranks itself up again.

The intensity of the suite gives way to the disc's closer, "Nothing's Changed," an examination of the present, a stop in time between the certainty of the past and the mysteries of the future.

Track Listing: The Day After (Reprise); February 2nd; The Road to Nowhere; Shatter; Internal Combustion Suite I; Internal Combustion Suite II; Internal Combustion Suite III; Internal Combustion Suite IV; Nothing's Changed.

Personnel: Evan Shay: tenor saxophone; Aime Duquet: guitar; Antoine Pelegrin: electric bass; Kyle Hutchins: drums.

Title: Internal Combustion | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Self Produced



comments powered by Disqus



Lawful Citizen
Internal Combustion

Album Reviews
Read more articles
Internal Combustion

Internal Combustion

Self Produced

Lawful Citizen

Lawful Citizen

Creative Independent Artists



Start your shopping here and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Runner in the Rain Album Reviews
Runner in the Rain
By Jack Bowers
January 22, 2019
Read Driftglass Album Reviews
By Chris May
January 22, 2019
Read Pure Magic Album Reviews
Pure Magic
By Mark Sullivan
January 22, 2019
Read Vera Album Reviews
By Jerome Wilson
January 22, 2019
Read Kresten Osgood Quintet Plays Jazz Album Reviews
Kresten Osgood Quintet Plays Jazz
By Dan McClenaghan
January 21, 2019
Read The Poetry of Jazz Volume Two Album Reviews
The Poetry of Jazz Volume Two
By Victor L. Schermer
January 21, 2019
Read Mesophase Album Reviews
By Glenn Astarita
January 21, 2019