In Orbit: in Orbit

Anya Wassenberg By

Sign in to view read count
In Orbit—the group, the song and the album—have a groovy 70s retro kind of feel, crashing chords, melody and dissonance, all to a disco beat.

High on energy, with an emphasis on danceable grooves, In Orbit is a cross-border group with a core of Canadian guitarist Michael Occhipinti and American saxophonist Jeff Coffin, who shared composing duties on the album. Tommy Reynolds adds tasteful and understated piano to the mix, with the strong combination of Felix Pastorius on bass and Davide Direnzo on drums rounding out the band.

The title track is a virtuosic tour-de-force for the sax, over layers of guitar, piano, and a retro dance groove. The combination of familiar beats and unexpected changes is explored throughout the release. Every now and then a ghost of a pop melody breaks out of the improvisational spirit of "Big Belly," with some interesting chord changes and a nice growling guitar line that add texture and momentum.

The blend of melodic structure and improvisational deviations from it—both tied to a tight, bouncy rhythm section—is a pattern the group weaves into a variety of influences from track to track. "Hat on Hat" borrows a bit of its cool groove from funk, the sax introducing a pattern that dances around the syncopations and closes out like an old school jam.

"The Mad Hatter Rides Again" is a stand-out track, with a combination of breakneck rhythm section, swirling sax, and piano bouncing off rhythm guitar. The solo section is a wild ride of melody and beats. "One Eyed Bandit" leans back in time towards the smooth chill of a Vegas lounge with a languid melody on the sax over shimmering cymbals.

In Oribt's playful and inventive take on retro sounds adds a modern gloss to well-worn grooves. The release will please fans of both classic and contemporary jazz.

Track Listing

Big Belly; Hat on Hat; Go Fly A Kite; The Mad Hatter Rides Again; Unity; In Orbit; One Eyed Bandit


Michael Occhipinti: guitar/composer; Jeff Coffin: saxophone/composer; Davide Direnzo: drums; Felix Pastorius: bass; Tom Reynolds: piano.

Album information

Title: in Orbit | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Ear Up Records



Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read The Sustain of Memory
The Sustain of Memory
By Dan McClenaghan
Read Vena
By Mike Jurkovic
Read Ordinary Heroes
Ordinary Heroes
By Edward Blanco