Chat Noir: Hyperuranion

Glenn Astarita By

Sign in to view read count
Celebrating its seventh release—and third album by this London-based band for Rare Noise—is an eclectic union of progressive rock, krautrock, jazz and ambient-electronica with pathways into futuristic techno-like permutations. In addition, pioneering Norwegian trumpeter Nils Petter Molvaer performs on four tracks. At times the program conveys sonic characteristics of a cathedral recording due to resonating licks and textures that dissipate into deep space, generating a semblance of spiritual activity.

The musicians' parallel Plato's relatively deep doctrine, Hyperuranion, concerning a perfect realm of forms and other interrelated canons. Here, the band dishes out a horde of abstract tonalities, multileveled EFX treatments, dark streaming synth sounds and sturdy pulses, as the layered sound-shaping treatments and Molvaer's brassy proclamations go beyond your customary electronics-based platform. On the flip side," Humanity" is akin to an extraterrestrial ballad, driven by a simple and subdued hook. Ultimately, the artists' artful use of electronics includes resonating choruses, quirky mini-themes, elongated single note lines, polytonal melody-making and sanctified inferences.

They traverse a parallel universe via multiple moving parts that synch up rather effectively. With movements featuring pressurized, subliminal motifs and drummer Moritz Baumgartner's scruffy patterns on "Matador Insects" and the trumpeter's regal phrasings atop swarming treatments on "Quasar (reprise)," the ensemble adds 2/4 rock grooves and alternating sub-themes into the grand schema. In sum, this isn't your plain old vanilla hybrid electronics program. Essentially, these multitasking musicians insert sheets of harmonious reverberations into largely, compelling theme-building episodes, spawning an embryonic apocalypse, tempered by memorable riffs and cheery advances into the 4th Dimension.

Track Listing: Blisters; Humanity; Immediate Ecstasy; Overcome; Quasar; Glimpse; Ten Elephants; Matador Insects; Quasar (reprise).

Personnel: Michele Cavillari: keyboards; Luca Fogagnolo: bass; Daniel Calvi: guitar, synths; Moritz Baumgartner: drums; Nils Petter Molvaer: trumpet ( 2, 5, 6, 9).

Title: Hyperuranion | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: RareNoiseRecords


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Inmoral
By Mike Jurkovic
Read Live In Berlin
Live In Berlin
By Don Phipps
Read Break Up With the Sound
Break Up With the Sound
By C. Michael Bailey
Read So Us
So Us
By Geno Thackara
Read Dialogue
By Don Phipps
Read Nikobo
By Ian Patterson