The Toledo Jazz Orchestra: Groovin'

Jack Bowers By

Sign in to view read count
While Toledo isn’t usually thought of as a hotbed of contemporary Jazz, they must be doing something right in that northwestern Ohio city on the shores of Lake Erie, as Groovin’ is the second outstanding album in the last year or two by the highly impressive community–based Toledo Jazz Orchestra. About that earlier endeavor, Out of Nowhere, we wrote: “. . .the TJO romps spryly through a program of time–tested standards and Jazz originals with the breathless enthusiasm of a teenager on his / her first date. . . .Every section is in synch, the trumpets boast power to spare, trombones and reeds swing audaciously, and the sure–handed rhythm section drives the band adamantly forward, quickly adding more fuel whenever the temperature needs tweaking.” The same applies here with all but one of the baker’s dozen selections (Tom Garling’s razzle–dazzle finale, “You Got It”) composed and / or arranged by members of the orchestra including music director Dave Melle. When not flexing its fraternal muscles, the TJO offers unerring support for its splendid guest vocalists, Kelly Broadway (“Getting to Know You,” arranged by Melle) and Lori LeFevre Johnson (“The Masquerade Is Over”). Alto saxophonist Jack Taylor sets a lively pace with his swinging curtain–raiser, “Minor Bop,” on which he and guitarist John Johnson share solo honors. Taylor also arranged “Here’s That Rainy Day,” “There’ll Never Be Another You” and “Masquerade.” Trumpeter Jimmy Cook, who wrote the buoyant “Groovin’” and easygoing “Sweet Momma,” is showcased on the latter as well as on Melle’s lovely arrangement of “Portrait of Jennie.” Flugel Scott Potter has the stage to himself on “Polka Dots and Moonbeams,” tenor Andrew Bishop on his mellow bossa, “More Than Sugar,” trombonist Scott Rogers on Melle’s robust treatment of “There Is No Greater Love.” Other soloists are soprano Steve Wood and pianist Eric Dickey (“Here’s That Rainy Day”), alto Mark Lemle (“Groovin’”), Wood (tenor) and trombonist Dan Saygers (“Another You”), Lemle (soprano) and Dickey (“Invitation”), Bishop, Rogers and lead trumpet Ric Wolkins (“You Got It”). Recording quality is admirable, as is the 63:28 playing time. About the nicest thing we can say about the TJO’s second album is that it’s as good as the first one — and that’s good enough to please almost any big–band enthusiast.

Contact:Toledo Jazz Society, 406 Adams St., Toledo, OH 43604. Phone 419–241–5299; fax 419–241–4777.

Track Listing: Minor Bop; Here

Personnel: Dave Melle, music director; Mark Lemle, Jack Taylor, Andrew Bishop, Steve Wood, Jason Yost, saxes, woodwinds; Ric Wolkins, Dave Tippett, Keith Powell, Scott Potter, Jimmy Cook, trumpet, flugelhorn; Scott Rogers, Dan Saygers, Kevin Shope, Phil Smith, trombone; Eric Dickey, piano; John Johnson, guitar; Kevin Eikum, bass; Roger Schupp, drums. Guest vocalists

| Record Label: TJS | Style: Big Band


More Articles

Read Over the Rainbow CD/LP/Track Review Over the Rainbow
by Paul Rauch
Published: February 24, 2017
Read Before The Silence CD/LP/Track Review Before The Silence
by John Sharpe
Published: February 24, 2017
Read Process And Reality CD/LP/Track Review Process And Reality
by Mark Corroto
Published: February 24, 2017
Read Masters Legacy Series, Volume 1 CD/LP/Track Review Masters Legacy Series, Volume 1
by Edward Blanco
Published: February 24, 2017
Read Backlog CD/LP/Track Review Backlog
by Mark F. Turner
Published: February 24, 2017
Read The Picasso Zone CD/LP/Track Review The Picasso Zone
by Franz A. Matzner
Published: February 23, 2017
Read "Eleven Promises" CD/LP/Track Review Eleven Promises
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: July 30, 2016
Read "Start to Move" CD/LP/Track Review Start to Move
by Rokas Kucinskas
Published: September 20, 2016
Read "Some Morning" CD/LP/Track Review Some Morning
by Dr. Judith Schlesinger
Published: March 2, 2016
Read "Spacebound Apes" CD/LP/Track Review Spacebound Apes
by Phil Barnes
Published: September 14, 2016
Read "Presidential Suite (Eight Variations on Freedom)" CD/LP/Track Review Presidential Suite (Eight Variations on Freedom)
by Karl Ackermann
Published: August 25, 2016
Read "OUTgoing" CD/LP/Track Review OUTgoing
by Budd Kopman
Published: January 31, 2017

Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus

Sponsor: ECM Records | BUY NOW  

Support our sponsor

Support All About Jazz's Future

We need your help and we have a deal. Contribute $20 and we'll hide the six Google ads that appear on every page for a full year!

Buy it!