Goran Ivanovic Trio: Goran Ivanovic Trio

Budd Kopman By

Sign in to view read count
Goran Ivanovic Trio: Goran Ivanovic Trio Virtuoso Serbian guitarist Goran Ivanovic has been busy performing, if not recording since the 2008 Folk Tales and the 2006 Goran Ivanovic Group, with the only subsequent album being the 2009 Guitar Duo with Andreas Kapsalis.

That void has been remedied with the very impressive Goran Ivanovic Trio, although listeners familiar with the first two recordings might miss the extra counterpoint of a second solo voice. Matt Ulery continues holding down the bass duties, but Peter Tashjian replaces Michael Caskey on drums/percussion. Folk Tales included cellist Michael Freilich and this recording lists guest cellist Ian Maksin.

It is easy to get lost in Ivanovic's technique, especially if one plays (or attempts to play) Classical style guitar, in a jazz style or not. Although wonders can now easily be performed in the recording process, there is not one hint of overdubbing, making the technical mastery all the more impressive.

Of course, the technique must serve the music, and examples of the trio's sound and cohesiveness can be seen here and here. Mesmerizing would not be too strong a word to use in describing the effect of this music. Yes, the Balkan influence is still present and pieces still have a folk music undertone, but at this point Ivanovic and company have transcended the label and each track is now just music which exudes confidence, finesse and yes, power. The melodic themes have a way of insinuating themselves into the mind.

"Maurice's Ragtime" is particularly impressive with its strong bass lines (many times played in unison by both guitar and bass), followed by the delightful "Tic Tac Toe," on which the cello plays a large role. "Patient Zero" is a dark and brooding piece, balanced by the beautiful guitar solo piece "Tomoko In Rain." The record ends with the powerful "Beleza," which highlights all of the individual player's and also the band's strengths.

Goran Ivanovic Trio is a tour de force and makes for a completely engrossing experience. Bravo!

Track Listing: Alvorada Americana; Maurice's Ragtime; Tic Tac Toe; Sick Puppy; Athina; Patient Zero; Tomoko In Rain; Querido Paco; Beleza.

Personnel: Goran Ivanovic: Classical guitar; Matt Ulery: electric bass; Pete Tashjian: drums, percussion; Ian Maksin: cello.

Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: Self Produced | Style: Classical


More Articles

Read Adam's Apple CD/LP/Track Review Adam's Apple
by Greg Simmons
Published: April 26, 2017
Read Dreamsville CD/LP/Track Review Dreamsville
by Jack Bowers
Published: April 26, 2017
Read April CD/LP/Track Review April
by Jerome Wilson
Published: April 26, 2017
Read Small World CD/LP/Track Review Small World
by Edward Blanco
Published: April 26, 2017
Read High Time CD/LP/Track Review High Time
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: April 26, 2017
Read Rags And Roots CD/LP/Track Review Rags And Roots
by James Nadal
Published: April 25, 2017
Read "N.O. Escape" CD/LP/Track Review N.O. Escape
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: March 26, 2017
Read "The Unquiet Sky" CD/LP/Track Review The Unquiet Sky
by Edward Blanco
Published: May 1, 2016
Read "Routes" CD/LP/Track Review Routes
by Mark Sullivan
Published: May 4, 2016
Read "Up Go We" CD/LP/Track Review Up Go We
by Budd Kopman
Published: August 4, 2016
Read "Masters Of War" CD/LP/Track Review Masters Of War
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: January 29, 2017

Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus


Support our sponsor

Support All About Jazz's Future

We need your help and we have a deal. Contribute $20 and we'll hide the six Google ads that appear on every page for a full year!