All About Jazz

Home » Articles » CD/LP/Track Review


SE-Quartet: Going North

Chris Mosey By

Sign in to view read count
This album is dedicated to the refugees who have arrived in Scandinavia in recent years. On the day it was released, April 7 2017, one of those refugees, Rakhmat Akilov, aged 39, drove a hijacked truck into the entrance of the Åhlens department store in the centre of Stockholm, the Swedish capital, killing four people.

Akilov, an unstable character with Islamic State sympathies, was upset because his application for a residence permit had been refused and he was due to be deported to his native Uzbekistan.

Scandinavians traditionally deal with such incidents calmly. Rasmus H. Thomsen, pianist/leader of the Swedish SE-Quartet, a committed Christian, goes so far as to turn the other cheek. His songs on this album include "The Power Of Forgiveness" and "Even Death Will Die."

He also wrote "Song For Paris," as "a gift" to the French capital following the Islamic terrorist attack there on the satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo in January 2015, in which 12 people died.

One way or another, this is a deeply felt album, the quartet's third release in five years. It is influenced by popular and classical music, avant-garde jazz, gospel and soul and introduces a new instrument to jazz—the didgeridoo. And on "Even Death Will Die" it features—very successfully—the Stella Chamber Choir.

This last number was inspired by "Some Die Young," a song by the Swedish singer Laleh, which has been adopted as an unofficial anthem by those who lost loved ones in attacks in Norway in 2011 by the far-right terrorist Anders Behring Breivik that claimed 77 lives.

It's one of the stand-out tracks, a haunting melancholic dirge, featuring the aforesaid didgeridoo, Thomsen's minimalist piano and some ethereal soprano by David Ehrlin.

Not all the songs have a refugee or terrorist theme. Drummer Antti Ojala's "Autumn Mist," evokes a fall morning in Sweden and features Ehrlin on bass clarinet. Ojala describes its inspiration: "The fog lay over the landscape and the sun's rays were trying to break through to strengthen the autumn colours. It was breathtaking."

Ehrlin's "The Bird's Return" has nothing to do with Charlie Parker. The bird in question is the dove released from the Ark by Noah which returns with a leaf, indicating that land is near.

And Thomsen's "The Happy End" is just that; a jazzy romp, providing a welcome escape from troubles currently plaguing an otherwise peaceful part of the world.

Track Listing: Going North; Vilhelmina – Storuman; Excursion; Song For Paris; The Bird’s Return; The Power Of Forgiveness; Oh Holy Day; Autumn Mist; Even Death Will Die; The Happy End.

Personnel: David Ehrlin: saxophones and bass clarinet; Rasmus H. Thomsen: piano and didgeridoo; Martin Sundström: bass; Antti Ojala: drums. Stella Chamber Choir: Lisa Sahlin, Jonna Schwertner, Cecilia Hessel, Lisa Lundquist, Katarina Josephsson, Anna Larinius, Hanna Bengtsdotter, Veronica Westerback, Ulrik Algulin, Elias Bremer, Rickard Larsson, Joel Hessel and Arvid Löfvenhamn.

Title: Going North | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: Prophone Records


Related Video

comments powered by Disqus

Shop Music & Tickets

Click any of the store links below and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Out in the Open CD/LP/Track Review
Out in the Open
by Jack Bowers
Published: November 16, 2018
Read Contemporary Chaos Practices CD/LP/Track Review
Contemporary Chaos Practices
by Don Phipps
Published: November 16, 2018
Read Changed Beings CD/LP/Track Review
Changed Beings
by Chris May
Published: November 16, 2018
Read We Must Mustn't We CD/LP/Track Review
We Must Mustn't We
by John Sharpe
Published: November 16, 2018
Read Two Infinitudes; The One You "see" and the One That Is You. CD/LP/Track Review
Two Infinitudes; The One You "see" and the One...
by Glenn Astarita
Published: November 16, 2018
Read Always Forward CD/LP/Track Review
Always Forward
by Jack Bowers
Published: November 15, 2018
Read "Where The River Goes" CD/LP/Track Review Where The River Goes
by Mike Jurkovic
Published: November 7, 2018
Read "Light Of Love" CD/LP/Track Review Light Of Love
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: September 23, 2018
Read "Anti-Anxiety" CD/LP/Track Review Anti-Anxiety
by John Bricker
Published: September 7, 2018
Read "Like A Radio" CD/LP/Track Review Like A Radio
by Doug Collette
Published: March 20, 2018
Read "Expresso" CD/LP/Track Review Expresso
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: September 11, 2018
Read "Lost Days" CD/LP/Track Review Lost Days
by Don Phipps
Published: August 16, 2018