Jari Haapalainen Trio: Fusion Machine

Mark Corroto By

Sign in to view read count
Short sharp shocks, describes the music of Fusion Machine. The twenty-eight minutes of sound is Jari Haapalainen's knuckle sandwich of a recording. Actually it's thirteen jabs, hooks, and uppercuts; let's call them the track list. The disc contains no composition longer than two minutes-fifty, the shortest, "Flykten Från Djursholm" (Escape From Djursholm), is just 1:34.

The Jari Haapalainen Trio performs a familiar type of compressed mayhem, a sort of punk haiku music that draws as much from the Minutemen as it does from Louis Armstrong's 78 gramophone sides that lasted the equivalent length of "Risk För Halka" (Risk Of Slipping). Opening with the drum break, the piece ignites with funk/rock bass and brawny saxophone into a speed freak tangle. Haapalainen, who occupies the drum seat here, is known to play guitar in the indie rock/punk outfit The Bear Quartet and has produced the popular band, The International Noise Conspiracy. What Haapalainen does best here is mash the energy of garage rock, a thumping baseline of Daniel Bingert with the talents of saxophonist Per 'Texas' Johansson. Only a badass would have the name of Texas, and make that a double badass for a Scandinavian. Johansson can be heard in Mats Gustafsson's Fire! Orchestra, Torbjorn Zetterberg's Hot Five, and Barry Guy's The Blue Shroud. His saxophone withstands, or is it defies(?), the onslaught of drum and electric bass matching the quick shifts with strapping notes. The trio works speed-freak sounds "Flykten Från Djursholm," a hardcore ballad "Ingrid 15," some stomping funk "Jag Har Fångat Ett Troll," monster rock "Heavy Metal Americano," and the tightest of tightrope walking pieces "Ingrid 20," a showcase for Johansson's breath control. This trio revives the jukebox smash hit (delete extra space) with a wallop.

Track Listing: Risk För Halka; Flykten Från Djursholm; Jag Vill Inte Gå Hem; Ingrid 15; Jag Har Fångat Ett Troll; Heavy Metal Americano; Begynnelsen; Ich Bin Ein Berliner; Månlandaren; Ingrid 20; Mörka Rummet; Skotten I Copacabana; Systemet I Hovsjö.

Personnel: Jari Haapalainen: drums; Per ‘Texas’ Johansson: tenor saxophone; Daniel Bingert: electric bass guitar.

Title: Fusion Machine | Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: Moserobie

About Jari Haapalainen Trio
Articles | Calendar | Discography | Photos | More...


Jazz Near Stockholm
Events Guide | Venue Guide | Get App | More...

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.


Read Blue World
Blue World
By Victor L. Schermer
Read Tenging
By Friedrich Kunzmann
Read The Best Part
The Best Part
By C. Michael Bailey
Read Nothing But Time
Nothing But Time
By Karl Ackermann
Read Philosophy
By Mark Corroto
Read Vegetable Soup
Vegetable Soup
By Mackenzie Horne
Read Somewhere
By Edward Blanco