Dan Pitt Trio: Fundamentally Flawed

Dan McClenaghan By

Sign in to view read count
Toronto-based guitarist Dan Pitt has tagged his debut album Fundamentally Flawed. It is a trio recording full of gorgeous, glowing chords and inspired accompaniment, beginning with the tune "Balmoral," a study in patience and off-kilter beauty. And throw in the sound of a trio equilibrium and telepathic interplay. If that opener marinates in the brooding side of sound, the title tune that comes next puts some pep into the sound, while maintaining a cerebral mood.

The trio sounds something like a surf rock trio working at a level of higher musicality than you might find in that genre, with a lot less of a focus on the groove, and a lot more of a feel for spontaneity and improvisation. "Mark I" opens in an atmospheric mode—thoughtful and introspective, while "Overdewitt" sounds like a heavy metal dirge, Pitt's guitar as resonant as can be—somehow visions of the slow rotation of a giant, gleaming-in-the-starlight space station comes to mind, the tick of the drums representing the mechanical inner workings of the beast, before it moves into a ragged shine of crunchy chords before shifting into a furtive mode. Pitt's guitar sounds as if it's plugged into some supercharged form of electricity. The atmosphere is ominous. "Mark II" slinks into consciousness, with Pitt employing sharp, clean lines in front of Alex Fournier's prowling bass and come-and-go, hammer-on-a-nail drums from Nick Fraser.

The word "atmospheric" fits this cohesive set of Pitt originals. But it is an "atmospheric" with guts. Composed sections slip into intervals of fluid improvisation, with an equilibrium of inspired instrumental input pervading, on a promising debut that has no fundamental flaws.

Track Listing: Balmoral; Fundamentally Flawed; Mark I; Overdewitt; Mark II; Finalizer; Mark II; January Blues.

Personnel: Dan Pitt: guitar; Alex Fournier: double bass; Nick Fraser: drums, cymbals.

Title: Fundamentally Flawed | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Self Produced



Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Nikobo
By Ian Patterson
Read Frankenhorn
By Dan McClenaghan
Read Yesterdays
By Don Phipps
Read Penderecki
By Ian Patterson
Read Forests
By John Eyles
Read Listen Up!
Listen Up!
By Jack Bowers