John Yao: Flip-Flop

Karl Ackermann By

Sign in to view read count
John Yao: Flip-Flop
On his 2012 debut, trombonist John Yao navigated multiple complex territories ranging from the experimental to traditional balladry. A regular presence on the New York scene, Yao has worked with the Vanguard Jazz Orchestra and Arturo O'Farrill's Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra. Having absorbed those big band sensibilities, Yao graduates from his inaugural quintet to a seventeen-piece ensemble. Flip-Flop features ten Yao compositions ranging from straight-ahead swing to frenzied group improvisations.

Joining Yao are two top-tier saxophonists in Jon Irabagon—of Mostly Other People Do The Killing—and Rich Perry who has been a central figure in Maria Schneider's Orchestra. Also on hand is trumpeter Andy Gravish whose impressive qualifications includes work with the Toshiko Akiyoshi Jazz Orchestra, Gunther Schuller and Artie Shaw. He and fellow trumpeter David Smith add substantial clout to the more swing oriented pieces. Pianist Jesse Stacken has a cutting-edge background having worked with bassist Eivind Opsvik and cornetist Kirk Knuffke. Stacken frequently provides an effective counter to the proliferation of brass and reeds on Flip-Flop.

Yao's compositional tactics and arranging style, while certainly complex, fall more into the old school, swing-heavy approach of a John Hollenbeck, than the cerebral hybrid slant like that of Darcy James Argue. The title track, for instance, is a push-pull of brass and reeds dominated by the dialog between Perry's tenor and John O'Gallagher's alto. Similarly, "New Guy," and "Slow . . . Children at Play" are fairly well rooted in the big band tradition but with enough improvisation to hold interest. The two shortest tracks on Flip-Flop, "Soundscape No. 1" and ..."No. 2" are the most adventurous and experimental of Yao's compositions.

While there little in the way of ground-breaking music or arranging on Flip-Flop, there are a number of noteworthy pieces. Along with the previously mentioned "Soundscapes...," "Illumination" is just that with its darker tone and less brassy presence. Irabagon's contribution to "Ode to the Last Twinkie" is a standout among the many fine solos from this large ensemble. Yao allows himself plenty of up front time and it's well worth hearing what a world-class trombonist can do on that very difficult but extraordinarily rich instrument.

Track Listing

Flip-Flop; New Guy; Slow…Children at Play; Soundscape No.1; Hellgate; Reflection; Ode to the Last Twinkie; Soundscape No.2; Illumination


John Yao: Compositions, Conductor, Trombone; John O’Gallagher: Alto, Soprano Saxophones, Flute; Alejandro Aviles: Alto Sax, Flute; Rich Perry: Tenor Sax; Jon Irabagon: Tenor Sax, Clarinet; Frank Basile: Baritone Sax, Bass Clarinet; John Walsh: Trumpet & Flugel; Jason Wiseman: Trumpet; David Smith: Trumpet; Andy Gravish: trumpet; Luis Bonilla: Trombone; Matt McDonald: Trombone; Kajiwara Tokunori: trombone; Jennifer Wharton: trombone; Jesse Stacken: piano; Robert Sabin: bass; Vince Cherico: drums

Album information

Title: Flip-Flop | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: See Tao Recordings

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Read 4K
Read Signals
Trio Linguae
Read History Gets Ahead of the Story
History Gets Ahead of the Story
Jeff Cosgrove / John Medeski / Jeff Lederer
Read Prism
Conference Call
Read Conspiracy
Terje Rypdal
Read Freya
Tineke Postma
Read Unearth
New Hermitage

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.