Fabel: FABEL

Jakob Baekgaard By

Sign in to view read count
Fabel: FABEL
Lonely tree. Lonely trumpet. Blowing through the clouds of green. Fields on fields in open space. A woodcutter leaving logs. Playing simple melodies. The piano breathes a song.

In the country. In the city. People gather to escape themselves. The burning fire of passion. Smiles are exchanged, and they wander. In the night.

It always comes back to this: Naked communication. Eyes looking at each other. The intimacy of instruments: Bass, trumpet and tangents.

The purpose is simple: To catch something before it's gone. A musical photograph. An album of leaves. The essence of life like water. The need to bend down without being broken. A hand that reaches out.

Scraping through the soil. The roots of our ancestors. This is where we will return.

In the mist of an old apartment. A lonely woman. Movement in space. The bass walks. The feeling of wood on the floor.

Outside there is an ocean and a forest full of trees. A gun is aiming at the sky, trying to shoot infinity. Walking like the bass, always searching for something that can't be found. This simple hunt can't be done alone. Hunters gather around the fire.

Words must communicate to someone. Letters are written for a friend. Sheets of paper. Papers piling up. The loneliness of an empty room. A dance despite this blue. Moment.

These words are a response to the trio Fabel and its eponymous debut. While the album is released separately on CD, it is conceived as a visual work that combines the poetry of moving pictures with the lyrical sound of Kasper Staub's piano, Jens Mikkel Madsen's steady bass and not least the tender trumpet voice of Jakob Sørensen. The name of this group is fitting. They tell musical fables that are supported by the video made by André Hansen. The whole album can be heard and seen in the attached YouTube video.

Track Listing

De Vandrende (J. Sørensen); Les Feuilles (J. Sørensen); Stærekasser (K. Staub); Står på Tæer (J. Sørensen); Stork (J. Sørensen); Ni Buk (J. Sørensen); Uden Titel (K. Staub); Mundelstrup (J. Sørensen).


Jakob Sørensen: trumpet; Kasper Staub: piano; Jens Mikkel: double bass.

Album information

Title: FABEL | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: Jaeger Community

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


Music Room 1985
Wayne Krantz
Berta Moreno Afro-Jazz Soul Project
Roni Ben-Hur
Nikol Bókóva
Noah Preminger
Julian Lage
Mayan Space Station
William Parker


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.