Eclectic and Electric

Maurice Hogue By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

This episode of One Man's Jazz is kind of eclectic, what with music from the likes of Petter Eldh's European super group Koma Saxo taking jazz in a different direction, Reverse Winchester (rapper/poet Mike Ladd hooked up with the open tuning of guitarist Mathieu Sourisseau), a historical bit on the strange tale of Canadian drummer Claude Ranger, Miguel Zenon's continued exploration of music from his native Puerto Rico, and an extended live piece from the Bushwick Series at the Bushwick Public House in Brooklyn (the trio of Sean Conly, Michael Attias and Tom Rainey). But it turns electric too, with guitarists Henrik Olsson, Olli Hirvonen, Johan Lindstrom and Johnnie Valentino. Top it off with the Simon Nabatov Quintet stretching the concept of group improvisation even further and you get a very interesting mix of music.


  • Jeff Williams "Under the Radar" from Lifelike (Whirlwind) 00:00
  • Jeff Williams "Dream Visitor" from Lifelike (Whirlwind) 08:31
  • Host speaks 16:55
  • Petter Eldh "Cyclops Dance" from Koma Saxo (We Jazz) 18:57
  • Petter Eldh "Soh Rinner Tiden Bort" from Koma Saxo (We Jazz) 23:27
  • Mark Lotz Trio "Euterpe" from The Wroclaw Sessions (Audio Cave) 26:51
  • Júlio Resende "Move It" from Da Alma (Clean Feed) 33:33
  • Host speaks 43:26
  • Claude Ranger Quintet "Black Lotus" from unknown (unknown) 45:35
  • Ethnic Heritage Ensemble "N2 Deep (for Randy Weston, Jerry Gonzales & Cecil Taylor) " from Be Known Ancient_Future_Music (Spiritmuse) 53:58
  • Host speaks 59:33
  • Whit Dickey "Box of Light" from Peace Planet/Box of Light (AUM Fidelity) 59:59
  • Host speaks 1:12:43
  • Simon Nabatov Quintet "Rickety" from Last Minute Theory (Clean Feed) 1:14:10
  • Simon Nabatov Quintet "Good Behavior" from Last Minute Theory (Clean Feed) 1:19:43
  • Johnnie Valentino "Searching Souls" from Searching Souls (9 Winds) 1:27:37
  • Host speaks 1:32:17
  • Olli Hirvonen "Nondescript" from Displace (Ropeadope) 1:33:42
  • Telepathic Band "Horticultural Techniques" from Telepathy Volume 1 (577 Records) 1:39:50
  • Henrik Olsson "Black Tourmaline" from Hand of Benediction (Barefoot) 1:45:14
  • Host speaks 1:49:08
  • Miguel Zenon Quartet "La Gata Montesa" from Sonero: The Music of Ismael Rivera (Miel) 1:51:37
  • Host speaks 1:58:44
  • Sean Conly, Michael Attias & Tom Rainey "Improvisation #2" from Live At The Bushwick Series (Gaucimusic) 2:00:12
  • Håvard Wiik Trio "Arcades" from The Arcades Project (Jazzland) 2:16:14
  • Host speaks 2:22:42
  • Reverse Winchester "Scattering of A Man" from Newburn (Mr. Morezon) 2:24:46
  • Franklin "cloud-space-earth" from Amen (Self-released) 2:28:44
  • Patrick O'Reilly "Dehydrated Doom Jazz" from Three Sheets to the Wind (Self-released) 2:38:24
  • Golpe & Jacob Sacks "O Meu (Segundo) Dia Na Corte" from Puzzle (Robalo) 2:40:56
  • Host speaks 2:47:08
  • Johan Lindström "Serengeti" from Music for Empty Halls (Moserobie) 2:49:21


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles