Peter Erskine: Dr. Um

Dan Bilawsky By

Sign in to view read count
Peter Erskine: Dr. Um
It would appear that this project has awakened the Peter Erskine of yore, the drummer who became legend while cresting the waves of fusion with Weather Report and Steps Ahead.

In recent years Erskine's drumming has been spare, elegant, open, and, in enough instances, lightly swinging. If one word would come to mind to describe that playing, it would be "tasteful." But does that automatically mean that joining forces with some plugged-in players and laying down some funk and fusion numbers is the antithesis of that ideal? Absolutely not. Erskine doesn't have a tasteless bone in his body. Musicality is of the utmost importance in his every groove, solo, fill, and mini-gesture, and he always plays for the situation at hand.

In this case, the situation requires Erskine to don the mask of Dr. Um, the man who knows how to point you toward whatever rhythmic prescription you seek. Looking for a soulful jam situation? You'll find it on keyboardist John Beasley's irresistible "Okraphilia." Hoping to find a direct nod to Weather Report? It's here in the form of a wonderful, sonically-updated "Speechless." Need a party piece? Look no further than Erskine's own "Hawaii Bathing Suit," a dance-friendly fusion-calypso hybrid that's non-stop fun. Is slick, understated funk more your bag? Then "Lost Page" or "Little Fun K" should fit the bill. Any and every musical question has its right answer, and every track gets the perfect feel from Erskine—not too economical, not too busy, and right on the money when it comes to style.

Most who were never smitten with fusion aren't likely to be won over by this date, but those in that group who were turned off mostly by its aggressive advances may take to this music. Erskine, keyboardist John Beasley, bassist Janek Gwizdala and several other notables, like saxophonist Bob Sheppard, demonstrate that fusion isn't really about muscle. It's about a readiness and willingness to bring different elements together, and Erskine does so beautifully on this album.

Track Listing

You're Next; Lost Page; Hawaii Bathing Suit; Bourges Buenos Aires; Little Fun K; Mahler (Ich Bin Der Welt Abhanden Gekommen); Sage Hands; Okraphalia; Speechless; Sprite; Northern Cross; You Awake.


Peter Erskine: drums; John Beasley: keyboards; Janek Gwizdala: electric bass; Bob Sheppard: tenor saxophone; Jeff Parker: guitar; Larry Koonse: guitar (10); Aaron Serfaty: congas, bongos, cowbell (2); Jack Fletcher: spoken word vocals.

Album information

Title: Dr. Um | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: Fuzzy Music

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon



All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.